All pjs, all the time!

This is my first weekend off in ages. Officially I had the first weekend of September off, but there were social obligations to fulfill, so I’m not counting that. So this is my first weekend off with no where to go, no one to see and nothing to do in probably about 7 months. I got home from work yesterday, put on pajama pants and announced that I was doing absolutely nothing until I go back to work on Monday. It’s glorious. I actually thought people were coming to town this weekend, but that’s not happening until next weekend for Halloween, so I’m just enjoying the sweetness that is relaxing. Next weekend should be pretty rowdy, and then the Thursday after that I’m leaving for a few days in San Fran with Aaron and Michelle! So that should be pretty fun. I’ve never been before and I’m looking forward to seeing them Cali-style.

I’ll be happy when we close on the 31st… even though we still have things to do after we close, at least we get a month and half in between closing and when we have the Christmas events and therefore have to deal with the public again. They are exhausting sometimes. I’ll be seeing if I can pick up some more shifts at the second job, since I still need to stockpile money before the Prague trip. Alternately, if anyone needs a kidney, call me.

Also looking forward to having weekends off (holy shit), and getting through a few more books. I’ve read a lot this summer… but there were a few more I wanted to get to. In the last 3 days, I’ve finished the following:
The Art of Happiness by the Dalai Llama (I’ve been slowly picking this one up off and on for about 6 months, I have reading ADD)
The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory (Mary, Queen of Scots was a tricky lady)
A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby (enjoyed, but not as much as High Fidelity and About A Boy, which are both great books)
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (I’m a little late on this one I guess. Very good, but not exactly an uplifting tale. I don’t think I could handle watching the movie…. too much disturbing imagery in the book I don’t think I need to see brought to the screen.)

Still working on Reconciliation: Islam, Democracy and the West by Benazir Bhutto and planning on starting The Pillars of the Earth probably tonight. Honestly, I feel all the reading has been much more productive than work anyway.

And in case anyone missed Oprah yesterday, she had the founder of Amazon.com and his AMAZING new product, the Kindle on. If you haven’t heard about it, look into it. And feel free to buy me one for Christmas….

Currently listening: Company Calls, Death Cab for Cutie

One thought on “All pjs, all the time!

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

