Less than 3 weeks!

Excited excited! Also, I’m now starting to be slightly panicked. Not overly panicked… but slightly. I found out Thursday that it was going to be my last day at the night job… they let all the part time people go the next day, so that kind of sucks. I only had four more days I was planning on working there, but I still could have used that money (obviously). I’ve had a few bites on the car, but people seem to get in touch with you once, you respond, and then never hear from them again. Except of course the people that want to send you a money order and ship the car to the UK. Which is fun. I think if it comes down to it, I’ll just end up taking it over to carmax to sell it.

But now that I’m officially unemployed, I have all sorts of time to do the things I’ve been avoiding for the last 4-6 months. Cleaning, reading all the travel books I’ve acquired, packing, learning Czech… you know, the basics. I’ve been trying to figure out what to bring and so far all the lists I’ve found online just don’t seem to cut it.

This is the “Everything but the kitchen sink” list…. http://www.travellerspoint.com/packing-list.cfm. Seriously? I’ll need a sherpa and a mule if I bring all that.

This one isn’t too bad… http://www.ricksteves.com/plan/tips/packlist.htm, except for one tiny thing. One pair of shoes??? Seriously? I can think of like, 5 that I need to bring. This is kind of the problem with going in winter. If it was summer I could get away with all flip flops except maybe the nice flats for interviews. But boots are definitely going to be in order. I’ll wear my heavy ones on the plane but other than that I have no idea.

And I love Samantha Brown but this list is clearly only for summer and short term… http://www.travelchannel.com/TV_Shows/Samantha_Brown/ci.Travel_Tips_and_Tricks.show?vgnextfmt=show&idLink=e68912bd4e11a110VgnVCM100000698b3a0a____.

So that’s what I’m stressing about at the moment. I’ve got pretty much everything taken care of with the exception of unloading the car, and taking Frodo in to get his shots updated before John and Kay take him. Hopefully they don’t change their mind in the next 2 weeks or so. I made a promotional packet (why didn’t I go into Marketing… I mean really), on the merits of having a Frodo Of Your Very Own, and that did them in. John was the one that needed convincing, but he can’t say no to animals either.

They sent out the contact list for the course this week so we’ve been emailing back and forth with arrival times and facebook friending each other. It looks like a few people will already be there when I arrive Thursday so that’s good news. Alleviates the worry about no one else getting there until Sunday night and having to roam around town alone for 3 days. I’d live but it would be weird.

So I’m just hanging out at the moment… we’re going out downtown tonight so that should be fun. It looks like there’s only going to be like six of us, but whatever. More beer for us. Plus it’s supposed to snow (AGAIN), so hopefully it won’t be super crazy. Nothing irritates me more than having to spend too much time waiting when we’re trying to get straight rocked. We’ve already got like, 20 inches of snow in the yard, and it’s supposed to come down for the next 4 days straight. Awesome. This better at least lay off for a few days come January 6-7, so I can get the hell out of here without delay. Tick tock tick tock.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

