Le Slacker…

And no, I don’t know how to say that in Czech. I can successfully say my name and that I’m American. And order a beer. And say thank you. So, progress. I realize I have been completely and totally slacking on the blog front, but I’m pretty sure no one is reading it sooooooooo, oh well. And now that I am writing this, I have almost no battery and have to go meet someone to look at an apartment. Heather=fail again. So I’m just posting this wee bit that I already emailed to everyone. And you will like it. So there. More to come.

*There are no dryers. There are however, towel warmers in the
bathroom. These work FANTASTICALLY to dry jeans in a semi-timely
manner.
*Toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.) are way expensive.
Think $4+ for a smaller bottle of Garnier Fructis then you could find
in the states. However, you can find anything you really want, and
many of the same brands, so there’s no excuse not to shower. You don’t
have to smell like a Czech person.
*Food is way cheap. (Thank God). Croissants at our grocery store are
about 8-10 crowns, depending on the kind. All the pastries in general
at the store (and they have pizza ones, dessert ones, cheese ones),
are under 15 crowns. At the moment the exchange rate is about 21
crowns to a dollar. Score. There have been several times when we’ve
come back from the store, looked at our receipt and realized the most
expensive thing we’ve bought was a chocolate bar that was more money
than the wine we got. I also have a wine rule, no more than 100
crowns. That’s right, no more than $5. And no, it does not in any way
restrict the selection.
*Beer is also way cheap. The guy that greeted me told me that if you
pay more than 25 crowns, you’re getting ripped off. (This was when I
asked him for key points we needed to know. The first thing he told me
was the beer thing. Priorities here…) Also keep in mind that beer
usually comes in .3 liters. For a .5 liter, we’re looking about 35
crowns. Which begs the question, how dare the HofBrauHaus in Milwaukee
charge $12 for a liter? Rip-off, I tell you.
*It’s winter here. However, when the snow melts (it warmed up this
week), the grass underneath is green. There are also flowers on some
of the bushes on our street, and green vines on a lot of the trees.
Also, we wake up to birds chirping, and see them flying around all the
time. At home in winter, you don’t see a green thing for 6 months at a
time…. So how is it that in essentially the same climate here…. There
is greenery!! We need to import this grass and such to the states,
asap.
*Any day you think you don’t need to dress that warmly because you’re
not going anywhere, you will end up trekking halfway across the city.
This is guaranteed. I think I’m the only girl that doesn’t wear tights
under her jeans everyday. I attribute this to the fact that I was
already acclimated when I got here. Thank God. Last week was freezing
everyday, but this week I’d say it’s been mid-30s… which I hear is
practically tropical compared to home! No, I’m not missing that.
*If you wanted to get a seat to watch the inauguration at the expat
hangout restaurant that was broadcasting it, you needed to have a
reservation. We got there after it was already over, and it was past
standing room only during the actual ceremony. We did get there in
time to see the part where the Bush crew got on the chopper and left.
Needless to say, there was a big cheer from the expat crowd at that
portion. They even handed out some sweet buttons if you came to the
party. You know I love a button.
*I was able to watch the inauguration online since we missed that
part, however, I cannot watch videos of the Office on nbc.com from
here. If anyone knows how to rectify that, or knows someone at NBC,
please alert them to this problem.
*They put eggs on everything here. Also, spinach. The spinach/egg
combination is particularly popular on pizza. Sometimes they throw in
ham and sardines too. I have never seen so many bizarre pizza
combinations in my life. And everywhere we’ve gone has had an
extensive pizza menu… I guess I didn’t realize it was a big thing
here. (And Brian, I checked… no veggie kabobs at the sausage stands. I
am disappointed).
*They also do not sell normal jeans here. All the jeans have gold
print, glitter, rhinestones spelling “glam girl” or other such bizarre
things on them. I’m convinced that even when we dress in black and
don’t speak English on the metro, that’s how they pick us out as
Americans. It’s because we don’t have ridiculous stuff all over our
pants.
*St. Vitus’s Cathedral at Prague Castle wins. It knocks Notre Dame de
Chartes (highly superior to Notre Dame de Paris), completely out of
the water. I hear in summer you can climb the towers… I definitely
will be needing to look into that at some point. Pics will come as
soon as I have another three hours to spend in a café uploading.
*They love ABBA here. There are ABBA Live posters all over town, and I
don’t know how it’s happened, but ABBA has managed to come up in every
single class we’ve taught so far.
*Keys go in the doors upside down. You also turn them the opposite way
to unlock/lock. It takes about 6 turns to actually unlock the door. We
have 5 keys to get from our outside gate to my bedroom… it can take
entirely too long to get into the house.

Yep, that’s what you get. Signing out from Le Starbucks…

2 thoughts on “Le Slacker…

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

