Plotting….

I want to go here…. right now. Hopefully we can work that in this summer.

So I’ve established the fact that I’ve leaving Prague. What next?

The tentative plan is to head to Germany. So if anyone is actually reading this, and can give me any advice, please do! I was offered a job with a summer camp, but at this late time I really have no idea if it’s going to be possible. Basically, I have to get a work/residence permit in order to work (obviously). But the trick is this… it has to be from the same city/region where the camp is. Which is no where near where I will be anytime soon. It would mean making an extra trip up to Berlin, and this would mean taking another 1-2 days off of work as the office is only open Tuesdays and Thursdays. I’m really not sure if this is at all possible, given that I only have a little more than a month left at work and I’m not sure how many more lessons I can cancel. The residence permit in the Czech Republic took about a month to come through, so even if I could get up there, I don’t know if it would be finished and if I could pick it up by the time the camp needs it (beginning of June). Two extra trips up to Berlin in addition to the family visit and going home is not a very likely situation in the next month and a half. Logistically, I just don’t think it can happen.

Well that was Plan A. I think it’s time to move onto Plan B. I stopped into the school branch in Nuremberg a few weeks ago to see if I could cash in on that promise of “if you work for a world-wide language school you should be able to go work at any of them.” While the woman I spoke to was quite interested given my experience, she told me that it would be impossible for me to commute. I understand that an hour and 20 minutes on a train (each way) is not exactly an ideal situation, but isn’t that my choice? But if the schedule there is similar to here, that would make 7am classes pretty much out of the question. So I understand her response… and have to remind myself about that German honesty/bluntness. (See: the train conversation I overheard where a German woman told a Czech girl that her long distance/cross cultural relationship could never work. It was fascinating).

Agh, digression. Anyway, after further discussion with the Boy, I’m considering just looking for a job in Nuremberg and living there after all. It’s still not ideal with us being that far apart… it’s less long distance, but it’s still distance. On the other side, if he stays put where he is now, it wouldn’t make a difference as he’ll still be working the ridiculous schedule he has going now. So yesterday I sent an email to the woman I met with, and I’ll see if I get anything back from that. Mostly I just want an offer. Because you need an offer or a contract just to get paperwork going. And that’s what I’m most concerned about right now. I should have 3 months after my current permit expires May 31, but of course I’d like to get things going sooner rather than later. And with me going home June 1 and being out of Europe for 2-3 weeks, I would rather have things in process while I’m gone so I could get working as soon as possible when I get back.

I’m just driving myself crazy not knowing what the next move will be. Best case scenario would have us being able to go somewhere together, but being that he still hasn’t heard anything yet (and was supposed to know almost a month ago), I can’t put my eggs in that basket. So I think I’m just going to start sending more applications and hope something pans out. And soon.

It’s always stressful figuring out your next move. But really, most things here have worked out when they really, really shouldn’t have. And Germany feels right to me. Mostly I want to live here and grow an excess of geraniums in every window. With cows across the street.Considering I’ve never been the type to want to settle somewhere, it’s scary when you go somewhere and can actually picture living there forever.

Meine Gott, maybe I should run now.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

