1.

Exiting the train station on the way to the Germany bus. 31.5.2011

Everyone goes with the Kafka quote when they leave Prague. You know the one,

“Prague never lets you go, this dear little mother has sharp claws.”

While that’s a great quote, and very true, I prefer to go with some Kundera. Taken from ‘The Unbearable Lightness of Being,’ and describing Tereza’s climb up Petrin Hill.

“On her way up, she paused several times to look back: below her she saw the towers and bridges; the saints were shaking their fists and lifting their stone eyes to the clouds. It was the most beautiful city in the world.”

I thought of that line nearly every time I happened to glance up and see yet another statue. Or every time I climbed that hill. It’s the first thing I think of every time I think fondly of the city.

All I can do now is trust my instinct and know that no matter what happens, I’m doing the right thing. It’s time to move on and for that to happen, I have to go. I have to break up this love affair. But I’m taking my tram with me. 🙂

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

