Süß Freitag and Adventures in German Eating.

We’ll start with the good stuff…. today’s cake comes from the Backerei Ludwig and the girl said it was a Himbeer-Schokolade mumblemumblemumble. So something with raspberries and chocolate, which is enough to sell me. 

 Nomnomnom.

Something sweet was quite necessary for me this afternoon, as I went to the Altstadtfest today for lunch, and had a bit of a food fail. 

Nürnberg’s Altstadtfest has all sorts of food, drink, and the usual round-up of German sweets. I was also told it’s a great place to meet yourself a “rich German farmer” (whatever that may mean). But I went there for some lunch today and found myself at a bit of a loss when checking out the menu. I’m not sure if there were a lot of local/regional specialties, or what, but not too much was easily recognizable. And having the dictionary didn’t help much either. So I just ordered one of the Vorspeisen (appetizers), and hoped for the best. This is what I got….

 Here is the menu description:

Hausgemachte Bauernsülze
mit herzhafter roter Zwiebel-Vinaigrette, Rettich und Bauernbrot
And this is what Google translate gives me:
Homemade farmer brawn
hearty red onion vinaigrette, radish and bread
Farmer Brawn? Exactly. Needless to say, this did not sufficiently explain what came on my plate, which you can’t really tell from the first picture, so here’s a close-up….
Yep. Meat in gelatinous form. 

Back in college, I spent four years working in a deli. I swore up and down that I would never, ever, in a million years, touch head cheese. Well, today it happened. I guess this would also explain the draw of the Altstadtfest for old farmers, because those were definitely the only people who EVER ordered head cheese at the Mega Deli (also, liver sausage). 

All told, it was not terrible once I put it on some bread with butter, and covered it in the pickled veggies. But I doubt I’ll be ordering it again.

Lesson learned… next time, bring a German.
4 thoughts on “Süß Freitag and Adventures in German Eating.

  1. Yes. But not meat-flavored Jell-o. More like large pieces of meat suspended in Jell-o. Like an evil version of your Grandma's Thanksgiving or Christmas Jell-o mold with fruit cocktail inside.

  2. I can't even look at this picture in my current hungover state. Blah. I told a German friend about this incident yesterday and she couldn't stop laughing. She said her dad is a big fan of the stuff but she won't touch it. She also said that I can call her next time so I don't just order blindly. Danke Gott.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

