Return of süß Freitag and some random stuff from the week…

Today’s cake comes from Bäckerei Ludwig down the street again. I thought it might be mint, what with the green and brown combo, but it wasn’t. The frosting tasted a lot like the frosting that we use at Christmas time on our sugar cookies at home. You know the kind, made from powdered sugar, vanilla, some other stuff and food coloring, and extremely sweet. The cake was good, but it was a small piece and it took me two sittings to finish it. Maybe a little too sweet. But that’s the rub of this project… you have to fight through all the cakes, however sweet they may be. It’s rough. 

Other things about this week (post hacker-meltdown)… 

Monday I finally got out to the Zollamt, aka the Customs office. I’d been waiting for my contacts I’d ordered from the U.S. for weeks, and finally got the notice that it had arrived and was sitting in customs two weeks ago. Since then, I either haven’t had time, or haven’t been able to drag my butt out of bed to get it, but the deadline had come and I had to go. Part of the reason I hadn’t gone was because the Zollamt is way far away. You have to go to the end of the U-Bahn, and then take a bus. The bus drops you off just off a main road, seemingly in the middle of nowhere. Then you walk about 20 minutes to the office. One side of the road has some big warehouse-like buildings, and a outdoor decor store. On the other side of the road is the Nürnberg container center. There are stacks and stacks of the huge metal containers you see at shipping yards, cranes, and 18-wheelers rushing by. And here I am walking down the side of the street, thinking that if it was darker, I would feel like I was in the beginning scenes of a gruesome episode of CSI or something.

Eventually I found my way to the Zollamt, waited my turn, waited for them to get someone who could speak English (not really necessary, but helpful), waited for them to figure out what duty tax I’d have to pay which involved waiting while they converted U.S. dollars to Euros, and finally getting out of there, only to wait some more for the bus. Back to the U-Bahn just in time for the school time rush home. Which was ok up until the point where I had five middle school boys sitting next to me and a problem with the train caused us to sit in one station for 20 minutes. After the haul around town that morning looking for somewhere to print the info I needed to take to customs, and the trip out to customs, all I wanted to do was get home so I could get ready for work the next day. I did not want to be sitting on a train with very loud pre-pubescent boys while more people kept piling in and we kept sitting there. Not fun. 

I guess this is lesson learned. I ordered the contacts online because I thought it would be cheaper and easier. My students told me they weren’t that expensive here, and it would probably be worth the trip to the eye doctor for a new prescription, and not having to pay shipping, hike out to that damn office again, and then pay duty tax. This means I will want to study German vocab related to the eye doctor in about six months. On it. 

That trip was tiring, and it added to my tiredness from being up too late the previous night. No, I wasn’t running around the city causing trouble again, but it was another very good reason.  Which brings me to the sunshine and daisies part of this week. 

Can we talk for a minute about how awesome Wisconsin sports are right now? I’m almost, almost, upset that I’m not at home for all this. 

My parents were at the Brewer game when they clinched their playoff berth, and the post-game celebration went on for an hour after the game. My parents were partying at Miller Park. That’s just weird. Since then, I’ve been living vicariously through people’s Facebook updates and pictures from the games. The Brewers haven’t been to the World Series in 29 years and people are going completely crazy at the possibility of this happening. A few years ago, they got a game or two into the postseason and it was a zoo at home. So I can’t even imagine how much fun it would be to be there for this. 

As if that isn’t enough, the Packers are the reigning Superbowl champs, and have started the season 5-0. Oh, Aaron Rodgers, you are awesome. Your beard makes every other beard in the world look scraggly and patchy. Your quarterback rating makes lesser men (*coughJayCutlercough*) weep. If you come to Nürnberg, I will buy you a beer. Maybe even two. That’s a promise. And the rest of the team ain’t half bad either. 

So I’m a little bummed not to be at home for all of this. But I’m happy to be living vicariously through Facebook, and watching games even if I’m 4,000 miles away. And it’s not just me who recognizes how awesome Wisco is these days, you can read more in this article from the Denver Post. 

Wow. I really am ADD this week. Cake, Zollamt, and sports. Whatever, it’s my blog and I’ll write about random stuff if I want to. 

Go Brewers!!

Oh, I miss these boys. Image via jsonline.com.


7 thoughts on “Return of süß Freitag and some random stuff from the week…

  1. No idea. Just look for something that looks deceptively like mint. The bakery I bought it from has lots of labels above the case, but it's damn near impossible to determine which labels go with which cakes!!

  2. Hi — I just stumbled onto your blog. You write about two things which interest me in particular: language and food.

    Have you heard about http://www.expatbloggersingermany.com and our upcoming meetup in Cologne? I know it's short notice, but just as a shot in the dark, come visit our site and sign up for our (members only) discussion board to get all the details.

  3. Thanks for the info Cliff, it might have been Waldmeister. Would love to make the meeting in Cologne, but probably won't get there this year. Will check out the boards though!

  4. Hi Heather!

    I just stumbled onto your blog and noticed that you are from Wisconsin (as am I)! My husband and I are currently expats in Gent, Belgium – we've lived here about 7 months.

    Within the last 3 months I recently started blogging about my experiences as an expat as well (expatsinghent.wordpress.com). It's been a great way to keep track of our day-to-day experiences and keep in touch with people at home.

    Just thought I'd say hi and that I love your blog – so exciting to see another Wisconsin-ite! 🙂

    ~Sarah

  5. Thanks Sarah!

    It's always great to meet another Badger! Just had a quick look at yours and spotted a reference to La Fuente… that's enough to sell me! I miss that place, do they still have the giant chile you can ride? I look forward to reading about your Belgian adventures, and how are the waffles??
    h.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

