Expat moments…

Some days being an expat is super exotic, interesting, and blah blah blah. And then other days, it’s more like this….

Yep, that’s my boys, the Green Bay Packers, with a side of German beer. And it’s halftime so you get a quick post.

There aren’t a tremendous number of things I miss from the U.S., but I do miss relaxing on the couch on a Sunday afternoon with a fridge full of football treats (guacamole or bean dip, Snyder’s pretzels, normal pizza, etc.). Huddling around a laptop like a hobo is just not the same. (Do hobos have laptops?) Not to mention staying up late because football games start here anywhere from 7pm to 2am. Gah. But German beer complements American football just fine. 

Speaking of beer, here’s a sure sign that winter is approaching….

Oktoberfest is out, Winter beers are in. Additionally, construction has started for the Nürnberg Christkindlesmarkt, so expect photos on the way from that! 

And lastly, here’s something you wouldn’t see in the States… in case you can’t quite tell from the bottle above, here’s a close-up shot!

Yep, sweet, angel-faced cherubs or Kinder enjoying their seasonal beer. I think you’d be hard-pressed to find a bottle of Miller, Bud or Coors with kiddos on the label. Cultural differences are fun! And in this case, kind of adorable.

8 thoughts on “Expat moments…

  1. Haha. I do put mine up on a large book, but that's mostly because it overheats terribly so that keeps the fan cooler. And I do have some speakers, but I tend to knock them over (especially when watching football), because the base of one is broken. It makes me nutty so unless what I'm watching is really quiet, I try not to use them! Guess I need to work on my imagination 🙂

  2. Hi there! We've even put our laptop above the fireplace and sat in front of it…ah, the expat life!

    I am so excited for the Germany Christmas markets. We're planning on visiting one on a road trip from Belgium. Have you heard which are the best?!

  3. Sarah, if I had a fireplace, I would totally do that!

    As for the Christmas markets, I think Dresden and Nuremberg are two of the more famous ones. Also, Rothenberg ob der Tauber is pretty well known. And Cologne is supposed to be really nice as well. I was in Stuttgart last year and thought theirs was pretty good. Otherwise in this area, I think Wurzberg, Bamberg and Regensburg are all pretty well known.

    I think what I'm trying to say is that you can't swing a stick in Germany without hitting a good Christmas market!

  4. Heather, I found your blog a few weeks ago and have been reading because I love all things German! I'm currently living in Peru and my boyfriend is a huge Packers fan. He's Peruvian and has no connection to Green Bay except that he loves Aaron Rodgers. So most of my Sundays look just like yours, we're huddled around a laptop, watching the game with a side of Peruvian beer. It's good to know we aren't alone!

  5. Thanks, Lima Lady. I'm glad to know that Packer fans really are everywhere, and I'm not the only one huddled around the laptop! And now for the real question: How does the Peruvian beer compare to German?

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

