One last shot… Ok, more than one.

Today it was sunny for the first time since Thursday. The sky the last two days has been that low, flat, light gray sky that lets you know that snow is on the way. I was pretty sure that if it had been about ten degrees colder, we definitely would have had some flakes falling. But when I woke up this morning and saw blue sky, I realized I should probably take what might be a last opportunity to get some “fall” pictures. 

Maybe I’m weird, but I feel like Nürnberg is a city for autumn. Something about the way the gold, brown, orange and red leaves perfectly complement the soft red-brown stone that many of the Altstadt buildings are made from is just beautiful. Despite the falling temperatures it still feels warm. 

Prague, on the other hand, was a city for spring. When spring hits, beautiful flower beds appear all around the city, people start wearing color again, and most importantly, you might see someone crack a smile on the tram. Rain washes away the sand and stones that covered snowy sidewalks all winter, and the city bursts into bloom. Petřín Hill is covered in flowering fruit trees, and it’s the perfect place to sit with a few friends and a few drinks on a weekend afternoon. There is color everywhere and it perfectly complements the mix of pinks, oranges, greens and every other shade on buildings in the old parts of the city. If you’re planning a trip to Prague, spring is the best time to go, hands down. If you don’t believe me, here are some photos from mid-April last year….

These were all taken during one of the traditional Sunday Wanderings I used to do with my friend Katie. Petřín and the Wallenstein gardens are gorgeous on a sunny spring day. I miss Prague, I do. But I have to remember that most of the things and people that made it so fantastic for me are no longer there. Even if I believed in regrets, I wouldn’t regret the decisions that I made this year.

Which brings us to Nürnberg. Like I said, I feel like it’s perfect for fall. I was a little worried the last few days that I had really missed my window for pictures, but considering I had the Most Beautiful Autumn Weekend in the Country Ever a few weeks ago, I didn’t think it was a good idea to complain. But then lo and behold, the sun was shining this morning and I could get out for some pictures before the Christmas decorations completely engulf the city. I think last week would have been better, but that ship has sailed. This week it is. So here you go… Herbst in Nürnberg.

How German is this??


4 thoughts on “One last shot… Ok, more than one.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

