A Very American-German Thanksgiving.


This was my third Thanksgiving here in Euro-land. If memory serves me, we celebrated with a potluck in Praha in 2009… back when there were still enough of us TEFL January grads to support a potluck situation. Last year, a friend was back in town for the week visiting her boyfriend, and they volunteered to take on the brunt of the cooking. The rest of us brought a dish to pass and hoped for the best. Considering her previous cooking experience consisted of making frozen pizzas, we were all surprised and delighted to have a nearly perfect feast.

Sadly, I don’t have any photos from those nights, but I’m sure they were accompanied with many pivos, mismatched cutlery, football on a laptop, IKEA plastic kiddie cups, and lots of laughs. If you were walking down the street in Praha, you probably heard over-excited American voices pouring down from floors up, or saw us hanging out the window with thin streams of smoke floating out into the night. Everyone smokes in Praha. Even I’ll light up on a holiday. It made the girls happy to have me join them in the name of a “special occasion.”

But now everyone is scattered again. I’m here in Germany and most of the Praha Lost Boys are back on the side of the pond that has ovens big enough to fit a Thanksgiving-sized turkey.
So what to do this year? 

Well, luckily for me, I’ve made friends with the very lovely Ellie, who was planning on cooking a proper (and professional!) Thanksgiving feast to share with her German boy and his family. And she was kind enough to invite me to share in the Saturday festivities. So my third Thanksgiving in Euro-land was spent with one American and some very nice Germans who seemed quite happy to experience their first Thanksgiving. Despite a little stress over finding ingredients, prepping, and cooking everything on her own, Ellie did a great job and everything was delicious. And the look on the faces of her boyfriend’s family when they saw the amount of food was totally priceless.

I thought I took more pictures of the food but apparently this is all I’ve got… enjoy!

All the staples: turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, and stuffing with walnuts and cranberries. She even baked the bread that the stuffing was made from! That, my friends, is commitment to your craft.
Eat your heart out Pillsbury… black pepper biscuits. This was only half of them… there was another batch!
Slightly out of focus, but fantastically good-looking apple pie that I didn’t even try because I could not eat another bite!

5 thoughts on “A Very American-German Thanksgiving.

  1. @Cliff: Done and done.
    @Sara Louise: It is kind of amazing how we all manage to scrape something together, isn't it? There might be hope for the human race after all….

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

