Bahn-Venture Drei and the Regensburg Weihnachtsmarkt

The Nürnberg Christkindlesmarkt opened last weekend which means that Christmas has basically exploded all over the city. And since Nürnberg has one of the most famous Christmas markets in Germany, it should naturally follow that I left town to see another one, right? Well, that’s what happened. One of my friends I’ve met through the Sprachduo suggested that we go down to Regensburg and see what their market has to offer, so we made arrangements to head there last Friday. 

Eva had only been to Regensburg once before, so she got some tips from her physical therapist before we left. He told her that there are three different markets in the city… One near a castle of some sort that you have to pay €5 to get into, the one in the main city square, and a third called the Handwerkerhof, that specializes in hand-made and craft items. We opted out of the one with paid entry, and decided to check out the other two. 

After a nice hour-long train ride through steadily graying weather, we arrived in Regensburg. First stop: the mall! Eva was on a hunt for a small purse as all she had with her was a heavy backpack. So we made a stop and picked her up a new one. Now, to the markets!

On the way there we made a quick stop at the Regensburger Dom, a prime example of Gothic architecture in southern Germany. There was a service going on at the very front so we couldn’t get right up to the front of the church, but we checked out the crypts and did a lap. As I mentioned, it was quite a gray day, so the inside of the cathedral was way too dark for any decent pics, but here are a few…

After the stop at the cathedral, our direction was to turn left so off we went. Although we went more straight than left, so we got a little lost. But we tried. On the way we wandered through some lovely little old streets. It reminded me so much of Prague just the way the streets twisted and the cobbles looked. It was nice to see the old buildings again. As I’d heard, Regensburg was a big target during the war (but where wasn’t?), but I guess most of the city center was left intact.

So first we ended up at what I think was the Handwerkerhof. We grabbed the first Glühwein of the day and had a look around. There were some really interesting woodcrafts, metal sculpture, knit hats, handmade soaps and on and on and on. So photos away…

Who doesn’t want a hedgehog to hold their pencils??

Eva didn’t think it would be a good idea to bring this guy back on the train. Wonder why.

I love the wooden toys in Germany, and these tiny tops were fantastic!

I do love creeping on musicians for pictures.
We then headed off in search of the main market square, and perhaps a nibble to eat. We stopped off at an area that seemed to be for either a church or some other charity function. But it had two important things: Knackwurst, and somewhere to stand under while eating it because the rain had picked up. 
Knackwurst was one of the things we were told we had to get while in town because it’s a specialty. I don’t know if this the normal way of serving it, but our sausages were sliced almost completely in half, then put in the roll. Then a pickle went in the middle, followed by a healthy dollop of mustard, and a mystery white substance. Might have been mayo, might have been something else, I have no idea. All together it tasted pretty darn good, but definite drippage danger so watch your clothes! After our snack we finally got to the main market square. 
Here you had the usual assortment of Weihnachtsmarkt fun. Rides for the kiddies, Glühwein and a Feueurzangenbowle for the adults, all kinds of food and sweets for everyone, and Christmas ornaments galore. We had a few more Glühweins, not to mention some truly fantastic potato pancakes and a strudel. In Germany, it really seems that the Christmas market is less to shop, more to hang out, eat and drink. And do they. Despite the steady drizzle, people just put up their hoods and held onto their mugs to keep their hands warm. Makes more sense to me than whining about being cold or wet. There was such a crowd around the Feuerzangenbowle we couldn’t even get near it.  I guess I’ll have to hit that up here in Nürnberg… my students were very excited about it and said it’s the best part of the Christmas market. They just advised me to stay away from it if I want to function afterwards… apparently it’s a bit lethal. But anyway, onto more pictures…
Matching animal hats and gloves! Woo!

Alten und neuen

Hallo. I enjoy hot beverages.

I also love penguins.

So if you like sparkly things…
No idea what’s in here, but Eva said it had gold flakes that are made by a Goldschlager. I was excited about that.
In addition to hot beverages and penguins, I also love Christmas lights.
I thought I took more pictures at the regular market, but I think I skipped a lot because I’d taken pictures of something similar earlier in the day here in Nürnberg. So expect more Christmas market pictures coming your way… soon. 
So all in all, an enjoyable day in Regensburg. Despite the rain. Which, given the name, was ok with me. 

7 thoughts on “Bahn-Venture Drei and the Regensburg Weihnachtsmarkt

  1. 1. I love me some cobblestones.
    2. Like the pic of the green stripey candles.
    3. I know I could Google it, but tell me more about Feuerzangenbowle. DO IT!

    – RZ

  2. I think the market on the castle grounds is worth the price of admission. There's a distinct atmosphere in there. Less commercial, more communal and the live music is always classy and never hokey. Plus bonfires and Feuerzangenbowle out of large cauldrons add a lot to the mood.

    Glad you enjoyed your visit to our town!

  3. Oh, I am so envious! I love the Christmas markets here in Berlin, but if I could choose where to live in Germany it would be Regensburg, and I can imagine it just looks utterly beautiful at Christmas. I like the look of the hand made market too!

  4. @RZ: 1)me too. 2)me too. and 3)I have to drink some first… then if I can still stand I'll elaborate. 🙂
    @Cliff: Maybe I'll check it out next year. We were only in Regensburg for about 5 hours and I was mostly following Eva as I had no idea where to go. I didn't know where the castle even was. But if you recommend a visit, I'll put it on the list for the future!
    @Fiona: I would love to see it with some snow! It was a nice city and a great thing to do for an afternoon.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

