Süß Freitag: A little bit Deutsch and a little bit American

Yesterday I posted a whole pile of pictures from the Nürnberg Christkindlesmarkt, but I saved a few treats for the Friday sweets. So first the German side. Behold…

Kisses! Not from Hershey’s! Or, I think they’re called kisses, but I could be wrong. I forget things. And even better with a side of Glühwein (don’t worry, they were not all for me, those came home as gifts). But anyway,  you’ve got a chocolate shell, a wafer on the bottom and in the middle….
Hello, fluffy marshmallow-esque deliciousness. Yes, it is green. They come in all kinds of flavors, and though I was tempted by the Bailey’s Irish variety, I opted for the one with “Wald” in the title. I figured if a forest was involved, it had to be good. It was a bit minty, and overall a good choice.
I worked hard the last few weeks, so I thought it was my duty to treat myself to as many of the Christmas market treats as I could before I left, so after the kisses (and yes, on another day), I went for the Schneeballen. But these snowballs are even more fun than those ones we used to get from Little Debbie.
The German Schneeballen are made of fried strips of pastry formed into balls and covered in an assortment of tasty choices. I got the straight chocolate, but you can also get them in marzipan, cherry, mint, Eierlikor (similar to Egg Nog), and all sorts of other kinds. I would recommend avoiding the ones that are covered in powdered sugar if you’re eating these in public, unless you don’t mind getting a bit messy.
And lastly, for the American goodness.
One of the things on the list of things I had to do this week was make the magical pink cookies again. So it’s a good thing I didn’t get baked out last weekend in the village, because I was right back at it this week. And these ones came out damn near perfect. 

They are so pretty it’s not even funny.  The first batch always looks the most perfectly meringue-esque, and these really came out great. So if you’d like to try making them on your own, here’s what you will need.

Raspberry Meringue Kisses

Ingredients:
3 Egg whites
1/8 teaspoon salt
3 1/2 tablespoons raspberry gelatin
3/4 cups sugar
1 teaspoon vinegar

1 cup miniature chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Beat egg whites with salt until foamy.
2. Add raspberry gelatin and sugar gradually, beat until stiff peaks form and sugar is dissolved. (When you think you have stiff peaks, you probably don’t, so keep going. It takes a while.)
3. Mix in vinegar and fold in chocolate chips.
4. Drop from a teaspoon onto a baking sheet covered in brown paper. (If you don’t have a brown paper bag handy, you can use baking paper, but double it up. One layer isn’t thick enough.)
5. Bake at 250° F for 25 minutes. 
6. Turn oven OFF, leave cookies in for an additional 20 minutes.
7. Enjoy!
Our official recipe says that this makes 9 dozen, but unless you’re making them teeny tiny, expect more like about 4 or 5 dozen.  

Well that’s about it for this week’s Süß Freitag. I hope everyone is getting prepped for Christmas and keeping that stress level down! I’m probably heading to a holiday party tonight that has been described as “a Frat party for adults.” Possibly involving grown men wrestling in the kitchen next to kegs. So that sounds like a good time. America is interesting… that’s about all I can say!
2 thoughts on “Süß Freitag: A little bit Deutsch and a little bit American

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

