Bavaria in Pop Culture

I’m a big fan of the CBS show, “The Big Bang Theory.” If you aren’t familiar with it, I suggest you head on over to Netflix or wherever you acquire your videos from and pick yourself up a few seasons; at the very least it will give you something to do until the temperature rises.

If you are in Germany, you can catch it in syndication and dubbed on ProSeiben as well. I’ve often wondered what poor sap is given the task of translating all that technical science stuff, and how well the puns/jokes that go along with all the nerd-dom translate. Someday when my German is up to speed, I’ll watch it and answer that question.

But I was catching up on some recent episodes and I quite enjoyed this little shout-out to Bavaria that came via Sheldon’s informative new show on flags. Which is a fantastic idea. Enjoy!

“Und ich bin eine Brezel!” Love it.

Although, if we’re going to be technical, you don’t hear “Guten Tag” very often in Bavaria… it’s much more typical to hear “Grüß Gott” as the standard greeting. And here in Franconia, you might even hear “Servus” instead. And if you’re like me, the first time you hear it you will be extremely confused, and spend the next 30 minutes of your commute trying to figure out if the man on the bike was swearing at you when he rode by. Or if he was saying “Severus,” in which case you will wonder if you look like Severus Snape. What can I say, dialect is confusing.

8 thoughts on “Bavaria in Pop Culture

  1. @RZ: Honest to God, that's what I thought he said. I had to go ask a friend if there was a nasty German word that sounded similar. She laughed and told me it was a greeting and that probably meant he thought I was cute or something. I was just relieved to not be likened to Snape. This is what happens when you stand at bus stops minding your own business.

    @Wiffy: Glad you enjoyed it… and 'moin moin' sounds very cute indeed!

  2. Ach!!! I hate Bayerisch. It's so freaking hard to understand, and last time I was in Bayern, I asked for a Brötchen, and the girl looked at me like I was on crack. She couldn't figure out what I was talking about till I started pointing at it, then she gave me some weird Bavarian substitute word.
    Without a doubt, it's the hardest dialect ever to understand. Although I have to admit, I hate how much of a French influence there is in Berlin. They don't say “Stock” for floor, instead they say “Etage,” and I don't know why, but it bothers me.
    Good story.
    In other news…. I love the Big Bang Theory!
    And… what brought you to Germany (and Prague is the best, I have to agree with you on that!)

  3. Bayerisch (and Franconian WITHIN Bayerisch), is a whole 'nother thing. I feel like even if my German gets to be on an ok level, if I go anywhere else, I'm not going to understand a thing! Maybe the French is a good thing… you can pick up a little of that language too. Can't go wrong with being trilingual.
    Big Bang Theory is great.
    Prague was great as well, but it was time for a change of pace. And the Czech money is a lot of fun to play with, but it doesn't seem to amount to much no matter how much you work. So it was time to make some Euros!

  4. This episode cracked me up as well. I've been in Bavaria now for roughly three months, and suddenly it's popping up in all my television shows! Even Chuck had some time in Germany in the last few episodes!

  5. Thanks for the note Steven… I feel like this is one of those “laws of the universe” things, i.e., once you see something or notice something for the 'first' time, you start seeing it everywhere!

  6. Pingback: Building Donkey Bridges: Harry Potter Edition | Heather Goes to Deutschland

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

