Nürnberg Eats

I went out to dinner tonight with a new friend who had recommended an Indian restaurant in the St. Johannis area of the city. Cafe Tibet is just outside the Altstadt and just a few steps from the popular Cafe Dampfnudelbäck.

The restaurant smelled exactly how you want an Indian restaurant to smell… like spices and incense. Apparently their heating system was down, so it was a bit chilly, but the ambiance was really warm. There was a lot of dark wood, brightly colored walls, fabric hanging down from the ceilings, and nice Indian touches all around. We sat at the back of the restaurant so I could sneak a peek into the garden and that looks like it will be absolutely gorgeous in summer. 

I didn’t bring my camera with me, but luckily the portions were so large I ended up bringing about half of my dinner back home with me. 

It looked prettier when it came out, I promise. I opted for the West Indian-style Gujarat: chicken, vegetables (peppers, carrots, beans), and cashews in a honey curry sauce. It wasn’t spicy at all with the honey curry, but was still very good. Next time I’ll go for something spicier… I sometimes like to test the water first. I also had plain Naan and rice, with a Grapefruit schorle to drink, so the total with tip came to 18€. I figure that’s pretty good, especially considering I came home with dinner for tomorrow as well.
6 thoughts on “Nürnberg Eats

  1. Going to India? Color me jealous! I was tentatively planning on meeting a friend there this year but it looks like that won't be possible with work. 😦

    Can't wait to live vicariously through your pictures!!

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

