Consumer Alerts: German-Style

As I walked through the city today with a rain/snow mix coming down in gusts, an unmistakable smell was in the air. Sweet and smoky mixed in the air near stands with grills full of bratwurst, piles of roasted nuts, and Glühwein hot and ready to serve. They are already serving these tasty treats all around the city, and the usual red and white striped awnings of the farmer’s market have moved from the Hauptmarkt into the main part of the city. That can only mean one thing:

That’s right, tomorrow is the opening day of the world-famous Nürnberger Christkindlesmarkt. Tomorrow evening, the woman chosen as this year’s Christkind will appear on the church balcony, recite the traditional speech, and officially open the market for the season. But anticipation for the market this year has been marred by some truly disturbing news…. 

I was driving to work with HP yesterday morning when I first heard the story on the news. I didn’t really think it was a big story but then… I saw it all over town….

Cup 50 cents up
Three Euros for the cup: Glühwein is expensive fun.

I saw at least four of these yesterday, and heard about it on the radio. Don’t get me wrong, it’s great to live in a country that doesn’t have murders on the news every day, but is this really that big of a story? A 20% increase is fairly big (feel free to check my math on that one), but I don’t think they’ll sell that much less Glühwein this year as a result. 

So if you’re planning on visiting the market this year, consider yourself warned. Get your budget in order (and don’t forget to account for the Pfand on your little boot glass as well if you want to bring it home as a souvenir), and get ready for some Christmas-y goodness. For my part, I’m excited for the Heisse Caipirinhas in the Hütte at Cafe Lucas, and my first Feuerzangenbowle, which I was told I HAD to try last year, but never got to it. Oh, and another friend told me that the French stand at the ‘Sister City’ market has hot pear juice spiked with rum. Oooooh, this will be good.

I should probably eat something, too. Otherwise it’ll be a fairly booze-soaked event. Luckily there is plenty of food as well.

Cookies, cookies, cookies
A small Feuerzangenbowle
The usual suspects: giant heart cookies

Anybody else looking forward to the markets this year?

8 thoughts on “Consumer Alerts: German-Style

  1. I did make my own last night – but I think it was more account of the weather than the price of a cup in the market. It certainly won't stop me. I'm very much looking forward to a few trips to the markets!

  2. Oh Feuerzangenbowle tastes great! I never had a Heisse Caipirinha though! Hope you´ll like it. And yeah, everything is getting more expensive in Germany and people like to complain about it. 🙂

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

