Preppin’ for Winter

When I first moved to Europe, I had problems buying a bedside lamp because I didn’t know how long I’d be here. But now I’m committed to being in Germany at least until my 2-year cell phone contract expires in June 2014. So now that I know I’ll be here for the foreseeable future, it makes more sense to make my house a bit cozier for winter. 

I’d been trying not to spend a lot of money lately since I’m not working much, and am planning on a week or so of vacation over New Year’s, but last week was rough. I had a ton of work to do, my stress level was through the roof, and I was a cranky mess. As I walked through the city last Thursday with the rain/snow mix dumping all over my head, I said, “screw it.” Retail therapy was in order.

Lately I’ve been super into this whole “deer” trend that’s happening, and I had seen some great stuff at some of the interior stores here, so Depot was my first stop. I picked up some new throw pillows there, and was sorely tempted by some of their Christmas decorations as well. I’ll have to think about that a bit more though. Then it was off to Butler’s, to see if they had anything else in the way of throw pillows, and I knew they had some great blankets as well. My brown IKEA throw blanket is going on four years old now and is getting more threadbare by the day (and my lovely duvet cover just kicked the bucket too, sadface), so I thought I’d see about replacing it. Unfortunately the blankets were a bit more than I wanted to spend, but I did pick up another throw pillow, a draft stopper, and a cookie tin. 

A little blurry, but you get the idea.
I couldn’t resist the Hütte here.
First batches of Christmas cookies, in a deer tin (naturally).

I also was invited to join in some cookie making last Tuesday with HP and some colleagues, hence the goodies. On top are Zimtsterne, a cinnamon cookie which apparently didn’t come out quite right. They taste okay though. In the middle are cornflakes rolled in chocolate, which are simple, delicious, and messy as all get out. And on bottom are my family’s cut-out sugar cookies. They tasted pretty good, but I had some issues converting all the ingredients so I’m crossing my fingers they don’t become rock hard in a week! 

Back to the couch, I kept my red pillow I‘ve had all year, but replaced the purple one with a very cozy knit sweateresque throw….


And all pillows and blankets go better with a steaming mug of hot chocolate. I’m in love with these pillows. Looooove them. And they’re super fluffy!

I also decided that since I had to carry all these bags, carrying an umbrella was just not going to work anymore, so this is the year I’m finally listening to my grandma and starting to wear a hat in winter. Plus I found one that matches my favorite scarf perfectly!

To top off the interior decoration, imagine my surprise when I opened my door Friday night to see HP standing there with something for my balcony. 

That would be a huge window box full of winter heather. Only trouble is that it doesn’t fit in any of my box holders, so it will just have to sit on the table. But that’s okay. It was very sweet, and definitely helps my balcony, which looks pretty dead about now since I haven’t removed any of the summer flowers yet. I’ll get to it…   

8 thoughts on “Preppin’ for Winter

  1. Believe me, if it were socially/fiscally acceptable to not leave the house for four months like a squirrel, I would be all over that. 🙂

    I just got the last few necessary ingredients from the States for my fave Christmas cookies, so those are next on the list. I look forward to seeing some goodies over on your blog!

  2. I totally get what you mean by not committing to decorations or any kind of design. It's taken me three years! The most I ever did was get winter scented candles to warm the place up, but other than that I wasn't sure how if it was worth it because I didn't know how long I was staying. I totes get it.

    Good for you for treating yourself and making your home cozy for the icy winter we have ahead of us. Is Germany just as freezing as Paris is right now?? McBrrrr.

  3. Yep, that sounds familiar. In Prague I didn't buy a bedside lamp or a fitted sheet until I got my visa. Soooooo 9 months in. I slept on the cheapest sheet IKEA had, just laid over the mattress. CLASSY.

    And yes, it is pretty chilly here now, but it's okay because it's Christmas market season and the drinks are warm. 🙂 I hope you have lots of cozy things around your place as well (now that you know you'll be there awhile)!

  4. I feel like a gypsy in that I will never commit to buying really nice stuff for my house for fear of moving on. It's getting ridiculous though, I'm too old to be living like a college kid. But I think I could commit to some cute deer throw pillows, or maybe ones with owls on them, I like owls 🙂

  5. Owls and deer are good choices, they seem to be everywhere right now! I did the college-type living thing in Prague as well and I'm just happy to have the option here to actually be comfortable! Plus carrying all this stuff down four flights of stairs and up more stairs (no elevators in this city it seems), is just way too much work right now. I don't think I'll be moving for a while!

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

