Travel List Challenge

For a while now, this travel challenge list has been floating around the interwebz. I saw it ages ago on the lovely Sara Louise‘s blog, and kept meaning to do it and forgetting. C’est la vie, non? But in light of the super-awesome travel year that was 2012, I thought I’d do it now and see what I wanted to check off next… goals!*

1. Alamo – San Antonio, Texas, USA
2. Alhambra – Granada, Spain
3. Andros Island – Bahamas
4. Angel Falls – Venezuela
5. Angkor Wat – Angkor, Cambodia
6. Atlantic City Boardwalk – Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
7. Ayers Rock – Australia
   
8. Big Ben – London, England

September 2012

 
9. Bora Bora – Polynesia
 
10. British Museum – London, England (was in London, but didn’t go. Damn.) 
11. Canals of Amsterdam – Amsterdam, Netherlands 

 
September 2010
 

12. Cathedral of Seville – Seville, Spain

13. Cave of Crystals – Mexico

14. Christ the Redeemer – Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

15. Cinque Terre National Park – Italy

16. Colosseum – Rome, Italy
 
February 2012
 
17. Crater Lake National Park – Oregon, USA
18. Dead Sea – Israel/Jordan
19. Death Valley National Park – California, USA
20. Devil’s Tower – Wyoming, USA
21. Dome of the Rock – Jerusalem, Israel

22. Easter Island Statues – Polynesia
23. Edinburgh Castle – Edinburgh, Scotland
24. Eiffel Tower – Paris, France (July 2001)
25. Empire State Building – New York City, New York, USA (8th grade field trip… whenever that was. Math is hard right now.)
26. Forbidden City – Beijing, China
27. French Quarter – New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
28. Galapagos Islands – Ecuador
29. Gateway Arch – St. Louis, Missouri, USA
30. Gettysburg Battlefield – Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
31. Glacier Bay Basin – Alaska, USA
32. Glacier National Park – Montana, USA
33. Glowworm Cave – New Zealand
34. Golden Gate Bridge – San Francisco, California, USA

November 2008

 
35. Grand Canal – Venice, Italy
 
36. Grand Canyon – Arizona, USA

37. Grand Mosque in Mecca – Saudi Arabia
38. Great Barrier Reef – Queensland, Australia
39. Great Mosque of Córdoba – Córdoba, Spain
40. Great Wall of China – China

41. Hagia Sophia – Istanbul, Turkey

42. Hawaii Volcanoes National Park – Hawaii, USA

43. Hollywood Boulevard – Hollywood, California, USA

44. Iguazu Falls – Argentina and Brazil

45. Kiyomizu-dera – Kyoto, Japan

46. Kremlin – Moscow, Russia

47. Lake Titicaca – Peru

48. Las Ramblas – Barcelona, Spain

49. Las Vegas Strip – Las Vegas, Nevada
 
September or October? 2006
 

50. Leaning Tower of Pisa – Pisa, Italy

51. Louvre Museum – Paris, France (July 2001)

52. Macchu Picchu – Peru

53. Matterhorn – Switzerland

54. Mayan Pyramids of Chichen Itza – Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico

55. Metropolitan Museum of Art – New York City, New York, USA (8th grade field trip again.)

56. Mount Everest – Nepal

57. Mount Fuji – Japan

58. Mount Kilimanjaro – Tanzania

59. Mount Rushmore – Keystone, South Dakota, USA

60. Napa Valley – California, USA (We were hiking, had no cash, and had to go to a vineyard with free tasting. Woo!)
 
November 2008
 

61. Ngorongoro Crater – Tanzania

62. Niagara Falls – New York, USA

63. Notre Dame Cathedral – Paris, France (July 2001)

64. Pacific Rim National Park – British Columbia, Canada

65. Pebble Beaches of Nice – Nice, France (July 2001. Damn that was a good trip.)

66. Petra – Jordan

67. Petronas Twin Towers – Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

68. Portland Head Lighthouse – Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA

69. Puerta Del Sol – Madrid, Spain

70. Pyramids of Giza – Egypt

71. Redwood National Park – California, USA

72. Rock of Gibraltar – Gibraltar

73. Rocky Mountain National Park – Colorado, USA 

74. Ruins of Athens – Athens, Greece

75. Ruins of Pompeii – Pompei, Italy

76. Sagrada Famila – Barcelona, Spain

77. Willis Tower (formerly Sears Tower) – Chicago, Illinois, USA (No clue when, but I know I’ve been there.)

78. Sedlec Ossuary – Czech Republic
 
April 2009 and January 2011
 

79. Sistine Chapel – Vatican City, Italy
 
February 2012, yeah… you aren’t supposed to take pictures. Whoops.
 

80. Smithsonian Institution – Washington, D.C., USA 
 
January 2005 (I think)

81. Space Needle – Seattle, Washington, USA

82. St. Peter’s Basilica – Vatican City, Italy
 
February 2012
 

83. Statue of Liberty – New York City, New York, USA (8th grade field trip.)

84. Stonehenge – Wiltshire County, England

85. Sydney Opera House – Sydney, Australia

86. Taj Mahal – Agra, India

87. Temple of the Golden Pavilion – Kyoto, Japan

88. Teotihuacan – Mexico

89. Tian Tan Buddha – Hong Kong, China

90. Times Square – New York City, New York, USA (Yep, field trip again. I think I need to go back.)

91. Varanasi – Uttar Pradesh, India

92. Victoria Falls – Zimbabwe

93. Wailing Wall – Jerusalem, Israel

94. Walt Disney World Resort – Orlando, Florida (Three times? Four times? My grandparents liked taking us there.)

95. Washington Monument – Washington, D.C., USA (January 2005?)

96. White Cliffs of Dover – Dover, England

97. White House – Washington, D.C., USA (January 2005?)

98. Winchester Cathedral – Hampshire, England

99. Yosemite National Park – California, USA

100. Zion National Park – Utah, USA
 
I guess I come in at 22, which is pretty damn good. I do feel like I’m slacking some days, but then I have to consider that many of the awesome places that I’ve been are not on this list. (Hello, the MUSTARD MUSEUM? How did that get left off?) But if I want to check off the next thing on the list… oh boy. I’m not anticipating any visits to Asia this year so I’m going to go with the following…
 
1. Edinburgh. I’ve been dying to go to Scotland forever, so this needs to happen.
2. Any of the stuff in Spain. I haven’t been to Spain proper (only Mallorca... German Spain), so that’s a possibility.
3. Any of the National Parks in the States. I’d like to do a road trip across the U.S. on one of my next trips home, so I’m sure I can hit at least one or two if I do that. 
 
And now for a slight gripe: really, 4 things in NYC? I know that it’s the center of the universe *coughthemiddleofthecountrycountstoocough* but c’mon. Isn’t the city on it’s own enough? Sorry, I have Midwest envy. Whenever someone is from an obscure middle-of-nowhere kind of place, they always make it Wisconsin. We have stuff too! Like this…
 
Via Roadside Wonders
I used to drive past that puppy every time I drove home from university. It’s amazing.
 
Any suggestions for what to hit next?? Because….
 
Via

Yes, I’m a dork. But I’ll take an opportunity for a Gandalf quote anyday.

  
*I need goals. Otherwise I’ll just lay on the couch and continue my recovery coma for the next six months. 
13 thoughts on “Travel List Challenge

  1. I've only been to twenty of these- surprisingly few in the continental US, in fact.

    I have been to Tian Tan Buddha in Hong Kong- it was pretty nifty. And I saw Big Ben, Edinburgh Castle, and Stonehenge in the same week.

  2. wow you've been to quite a few places! and is it sad that i had no idea that the sears tower changed its name to the willis tower? whattt? ive obviously been living in a bubble (called norway) 🙂

  3. Same here… there is some talk of maybe doing a road trip in the States when I go home this summer, so maybe I can check a few of those parks off the list. Why is our damn country so big? Garg.

    I'd love to see that Buddha, and like I said, I'm absolutely itching to get to Scotland so I'm jealous of your Edinburgh trip! But that is quite the week. We did all the NYC stuff in less than 3 days, so that was a whirlwind trip for all us country kids from the sticks. 😉

  4. Thanks Megan, I feel like that is a compliment coming from someone who I'm guessing would crush this list! Wiki says that the name officially changed in 2009, but I don't think I've ever heard anyone say anything besides 'Sears Tower.' I think it actually popped up in one of my course books I use for teaching, and I was very confused. Definite awkward class moment.

  5. Mrs. 1976 and I got a great big kick out of Seville, and its cathedral. She's from Kansas City, which has a architectural connection to Seville. I just like Churros y Chocolate. And orange trees lining the streets. And ALL THAT HAM.

    Edinburgh is cool too.

    We just got back from our first (probably not last) trip to Rome last night, where we knocked out a few of the items on that list. I'd like to visit Cinque Terre (in fact, last year — Fall 2011 — we had a road trip all lined up, but re-routed through Veneto instead, owing to the disastrous flooding in the area), Pisa (I'm surprised work hasn't brought me there all these years in Germany), and Naples/Pompeii. Not to mention Sardinia and Sicily…hmm, I sense more Italy in my travel for 2013. Hope I don't burn out on it.

  6. More ham? I don't know… I nearly went into a ham coma in Italy. I might just have to stick to the Churros y Chocolate. Which would be totally okay with me. Spain is on the “definitely maybe” list for this year, so we shall see.

    Glad you guys enjoyed Rome, and I totally agree on sensing more Italy. I'm putting Cinque Terre on the list for the next trip, but there was just no extra time for that this year. We did plenty of other stuff though, so I can't complain too much! And somehow I doubt you could burn out on Italy, or all that fantastic food.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

