Oh, German Names.

Last week Wednesday I started some new English courses at a new company. Overall I think they went fairly well, and the students all seem motivated, which is always a bonus. I’m taking over the classes from a fellow teacher who’s moving on. It seems that he’s kept them all pretty happy for the last two years, so my challenge is to keep them happy.

At the end of the day I was pretty pleased with how the first lessons went, and felt fairly optimistic for the course. And then I saw this, which I’m taking as a good sign. 

Yes, that’s the name of a furniture company.

Yes, I burst out laughing in an empty conference room like a crazy person.

Yes, some days I’m still 12 years old. 

On occasion you run across some names here that give you the case of the giggles. A huge ‘Assmann’ sign is also plastered across a building near Plärrer here in Nürnberg. I’ve never gotten a picture of it, but it usually causes me to chuckle when I ride the tram past. 

It really is the little things. Just don’t even get me started on the abbreviation for Nürnberg Public Transport aka Verkehrsaktiengesellschaft aka…

Via

Yep, VAG. And you see it all over the city. If you go to their website, you can even see links to “Meine VAG,” which seems a bit… forward to me.

Anyone else have a funny name to share??

P.S.~ This kind of pertains, back from when I first got here….

8 thoughts on “Oh, German Names.

  1. Hahaha, Assmann! That's hilarious!!

    I also just clicked on the post you linked to, and OMG – the Tchibo symbol really does look like sperm!! I'm never going to be able to look at Tchibo in the same way again now!

  2. OMG your blog is fantastic! Haha I have also taken a picture of that Assmann Möbel truck before and I chuckle to myself every time I see it. I'm adding you to my reader! I'm also an English teacher. And it looks like you have fun adventures. 🙂

  3. Thanks Sarah, I'm a fan of your blog as well… I think I've been lurking for a while before the IKEA post. I think I found you through Steven's Regensberg blog… looking forward to reading more from you! 🙂

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

