The Sweetest Time of the Year

And no, I’m not talking about the hearts and chocolate that surround Valentine’s Day. No, I’m talking about Fasching, also known as German Carnival.For some people, it looks like this…

Part of a small-town Germany parade I saw in 2011.

There are parties, costumes, and all-around ridiculous behavior. I’ve never been a huge costume person, but there was something I was really looking forward to this year. And that, is these little babies….

Doughnuts.… yes, glorious filled doughnuts, also known as Krapfen, Berliner, or some other variation. 

Since I had to go home last year in February, I missed a lot of the Krapfen season. They do have these all year ’round, but usually only one or two kinds at a time. But as you can see in the photos, at this time of year there are lots of choices. And all of them are delicious. Here’s a little sampling of what I’ve eaten in the last couple of weeks…

Raspberry and Prosecco
Bailey’s on the left, Raspberry Cream on the right
Rosehip jam in back, and something with rum in front…
Almond butter

Honestly, I don’t know what I’m going to do until next year. How will I get through my Thursday classes without this giant glob of Bailey’s goodness inbetween classes??

I miss them already.  

8 thoughts on “The Sweetest Time of the Year

  1. Oh, I remember one year I ate 20 Berliner on one day. 🙂 But don't you get them all year round? I know that you can buy them in Saarland in every bakery no matter if it is Fasching or not. Not so many different flavors but still…

  2. A raspberry and prosseco doughnut?! Whaaaaaaaa! That sounds incredible. I'm so jealous! We need a doughnut month over here, but knowing France that would never happen. Guess I'll have to make a trip over next year!

    You just made me re-hungry. Thanks. 😛

  3. 20 in a day? Impressive! Yes, you can get them all year round here, but as I said in the post, it's more like two flavors. Jam and chocolate or something. No Bailey's, no Dulce de Leche, no raspberry cream…. sigh. It's just not the same.

  4. I was so excited when I discovered that. It was right next to the 'Kinderkrapfen,' as apparently they need to designate ones for children that are alcohol-free. Too funny. Don't the French do anything crazy for Mardi Gras? Like prosecco crepes or something? Tell them to get on that!

  5. i feel like norwegian pastries were an act went wrong. i need to get back into real europe and discover goodness again!

    and i LOVED your comment you recently left on my blog in regards to the milwaukee post! what city are you from around there? (i know many of them). i was in brookfield prior to my afternoon spent in milwaukee actually 🙂 had to get new flip flops at the mall b/c mine broke haha!! i really hope to get back to WI soon!

  6. Well at least you know where to find the goods. And believe me, after the Czech Republic and their embarrassing bakery abilities, German is paradise. 🙂

    Thanks… I loved your post! I was actually born in Milwaukee, but moved to Eagle (20 minutes south of Oconomowoc) when I was a kid. Hopefully next time you get there, you can see some more. Most important thing though is Kopp's. And cheese curds.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

