Wednesday Quiz.

Q: What’s the saddest sound in the whole world?


A: The cry of “nooooooooooooooooooo” when a girl discovers that her beloved brown riding-style boots are dying a slow and painful death.

No, I take that back. It’s the cry of “nooooooooooooooooo” when a girl who is broke and on a very tight budget to save for the upcoming Giant America Trip discovers that her beloved brown riding-style boots are dying a slow and painful death.

Sounds trivial, does it not? Well, when you’re already broke, but trying to save for a trip, also in incredibly desperate need of a haircut, and you start to notice that everything you own is going to shit, it becomes a problem.

I searched for those boots for such a long time, and I was so excited to finally find a pair at C&A that fulfilled my riding-boots wearing dreams. Considering that usually the boots I loved were in the 200€ range, I was over the moon to find some for around 70€. It was basically the Holy Grail to me. They were a little bit big, but they zipped up my calves, and you ladies know how difficult that can be to find. Lately they’ve been getting looser from so much wear, and went from a little bit big to awkwardly big. One heel is worn in such a weird angle that as of Tuesday, the inside is rubbing on my ankle to the point of blood. Most of the lining has been gone for at least a few months, so I guess that was inevitable. I was hoping they’d make it through the winter, but it looks like they’re going to fall short. Spring better get here quickly, so I can switch over to flats ASAP. 

The good news is that flats are much cheaper, but the bad news is that all of the ones I have now are pretty much going the same way as the boots. Which means I need a whole new round of shoes in the very near future. Not to mention that the two pairs of jeans that I normally wear are wearing out in very strategically important places. I don’t know how much longer they have, but they might be one rough spin cycle away from the end. And last week I noticed that quite a few of my staple under-shirt tank tops are reaching their strap-breaking limit. One already bit the dust about three weeks ago and so the rest can’t be far behind. 

I was already looking forward to doing some shopping in America (Land of the free, home of the bargain basement. Also, outlets.), but I’m not sure if half of my wardrobe will last another two months. I guess the advantage to this would be that my suitcase will be delightfully light if I take it home empty. It’s just that I was planning on having some pants to wear when I get there. Gah.    

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Quiz.

  1. Can you take them to a cobbler? My husband stepped on the back of my boot heel a few weeks ago and broke it. I was able to get it fixed for €10. When I find boots I like I always fix them rather than buy new ones. Good boots are so hard to find, and in Germany they are super expensive too.

  2. Yeah, I was just going to ask what Wiffy above asked. They look like they can just be prepared, way cheaper than buying a brand new pair of boots.

    Ugh but I know what you mean, when it rains it pours, and suddenly you need new EVERYTHING! Why is life so expensive???

    Beautiful boots, by the way! : )

  3. I did look at that, but unfortunately the problem isn't just the sole, and I don't think they can repair all the damage inside. Plus the fact that they're so loose now that my foot is pretty much ratting around in there if I don't wear two pairs of socks. 😦

  4. See above. 🙂

    I have no idea why life is so expensive (all in one go, usually), but I wish it would stop.

    Sigh, yes, they are/were. But at least if spring is almost here, I have a few months to mentally prepare myself for The Great Boot Replacement Hunt of 2013.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

