You Win This One, Nürnberger Nachrichten

After a few carafes of Rosé at lunch, I was happily walking home on Saturday afternoon. Then I saw something that made me stop short, burst out laughing, and take a picture. I was formulating a mental post on how ridiculous the news is these days… how newspapers are a dying industry… how they’re doing everything possible to get you to stop at that metal box, insert a coin, and take one home. 

Last night I fell asleep pretty early. I woke up at about 2:30am, grabbed my phone to set the alarm, my finger did its automatic reach for the Facebox, and then I saw what happened in Boston. As a result, I’ve spent today thinking about how much I would rather see the completely ridiculous headlines that I saw this weekend, then see what I saw when I woke up this morning.

Headline: “Nürnberg bratwurst conquer the world.”

You win this one, Nürnberger Nachrichten.

And America? I know that we don’t know yet who was responsible for what happened in Boston or whether it be foreign or domestic, but every time something like this happens, it gets harder and harder to try to explain these things to my classes. If we could get things under control, I think we’d all benefit from that.  

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

