Sisterhood Bloggers Award

A couple of weeks ago, the lovely Beverley over at Confuzzledom nominated me for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. Danke, Beverley! I’m crap at these things, and it seems like every day I find a new Germany expat blog, so I’m just going to answer her questions, and if you write a blog (especially here in the land of expats and pretzels), feel free to consider yourself nominated. Just leave a comment so we can read your responses!

 To accept the award, the rules are as follows: 

  1. Provide a link and thanks to the bloggers who nominated you
  2. Answer 10 questions
  3. Nominate 10 blogs that you find a joy to read
  4. Provide links to blogs and inform the recipients that they have been nominated
  5. Include the award logo within post

QUESTIONS:

  1. Who is a woman from history that you respect? There are a lot, but if I had to narrow it down then Queen Elizabeth I jumps to mind. I love reading about her life and the fact that she lived through such a turbulent time and 1) survived and 2) went on to be such a strong female ruler is unbelievably amazing. I’d also say Laura Ingalls Wilder, because I loved her books as a kid, and still do today. She has such a wonderful, clear way with words, and makes it so easy to picture her life.
  2. Why is your blog’s name your blog’s name? Well, it’s pretty darn unoriginal. I’m Heather, and I went to Deutschland. So there you are. I renamed it when I moved from Prague and I’m pretty sure no one read it at the time. That was also before I read so many other blogs and realized that an alliterative name was really preferable. But don’t worry, my next blog will be named Tigers, Truffles, and Treehouses. Or maybe Yellow, Yoga, and Yurts. We’ll see how it goes. 
  3. What book are you reading right now? I used to be a voracious reader, and am a bit ashamed of how few new books I get to these days. I did just download the sample from ‘Salt Sugar Fat’ and am considering downloading the whole version… but I’m a little afraid of reading that on the plane to the States. I want to enjoy my chemical-laced foods while I’m in America… you know? But if anyone has any other recommendations, by all means, throw me a comment. 
  4. What’s your favorite drink? If we’re talking non-alcoholic, then lately it’s been any sort of Yogi tea. I’m completely addicted, and they have ruined other teas for me. My favorite flavor (so far), is the Black Chai. If alcohol is involved, margaritas or mojitos are my favorite cocktails. Oooooh, Margaritas, Mojitos, and Moscato. Now there’s a blog name. I’ve also gotten pretty into Italian red wine. Damn you Tuscany!
  5. Which is your favorite method of transport? I do miss driving myself around, but there’s just so much to love about trains in Germany. They get you where you want to go, they’re usually on time, and you can kick back and enjoy the scenery. And the people-watching.
  6. What is your favorite food? So many choices… so little time. But if I had to only eat one food forever, I’d probably choose fresh raspberries straight off the bush.
  7. Do you ever sing in the shower? Nah, my bathroom window is right on the walkway… I don’t need to subject my neighbors to that. 🙂
  8. Are you wearing socks right now? Nope. I hate socks and if the weather would stay nice so I can quit wearing them for the next several months, that would be great.
  9. If you could be given any gift, what would it be? I’ve been lusting after a good DSLR camera for the last several years, so I’d take one of those. My current camera is a refurbished hand-me-down, that doesn’t do what I want half of the time. And goes through the occasional spurt when it just stops working. So a new camera would be lovely.
  10. When you have 30 minutes of free time, how do you pass it? On any number of time-suck websites, usually. I think this sums it up best….

Well, that’s about it for my answers… thanks again Bev! Like I said above, if you write a blog and want to join on in, consider yourself nominated. Leave a comment and play along!

4 thoughts on “Sisterhood Bloggers Award

  1. I miss all the trains here in America! 🙂
    It is funny that you hate socks, I love them so much because I always get cold feet when I don't wear any socks.

  2. Thanks, Bev. I love Yogi as well, but it has ruined all other tea for me. I have about 9 different kinds in the kitchen right now.

    Well then I shall keep it… although I was tossing around some other alliterative choices this weekend. Which I can't remember anymore… damn beer hike!

  3. I would too, Katrin! And socks are okay in winter, but I really can't stand them the rest of the year. I wish the weather here would stop toying with us because I'd like to put mine away. I had to put on pants and slipper socks to sit on my balcony this afternoon, even though it was pretty sunny. Darn German weather!

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

