A New Toy

Apologies for the delay in posts. The combination of social activities, good weather, and my attention span rivaling that of a cracked-out squirrel means that posts have once again fallen by the wayside. Sorry! I’ll try to do better but blue sky means no guarantees. 🙂

If you follow me on Instagram, you may have noticed a picture of a very snazzy looking camera that I posted last weekend. If you didn’t see it, behold…

new toy17Well hello there, beautiful.

A DSLR has been on my wish list for as long as I can remember. I haven’t had a decent camera since I was using my old Canon Rebel during university. I ended up leaving it at home when I moved abroad because I had no idea how long I’d be gone for and just couldn’t justify working with film. So it stayed home and I’ve been using a big old Sony digital that I inherited when my grandpa passed away. It took decent pictures and served me well, but it was a glorified point-and-shoot, and considering it had lower pixel resolution than my iPhone, I’ve pretty much left it at home for the last two years. But now I shall be hauling this behemoth all over Germany and will be nothing but happy about it. BV and I spent a lot of time debating the merits of various cameras, and I’m eager to get out and test this as much as possible. But oh man, so. many. menus. Times have a-changed, that’s for sure. The manual is also all auf Deutsch, of course, so it’s going to be a lot of trial-and-error on my part. Or I’ll get annoyed at some point and purchase two new ink cartridges just so I can print out the PDF of the English manual.

Hopefully in the near future I’ll have some sweet new travel posts to write, but for today I thought I’d share a little bit of what I’ve played with so far. I haven’t wandered far from home in the last two weeks, so we’ll be local for the moment.

Marry the Cat is of course an obvious subject, as she’s stuck here with me all day. She’s also very good at posing while sleeping, and batting at the camera while awake.

new toy18She took a break from batting at the camera to bat at this bee instead. We’ve tried to explain to her that she should leave the bees alone but so far, no luck. As long as she keeps killing spiders, I’m okay with her not being too discerning.

Because of little Miss Marry, we had to move our jungle of potted plants into our extra room (Spare Oom), because they were all poisonous for her. There was one exception, which is an Hibiscus that has been chewed on excessively by the cat. Last week, BV was missing his jungle, so he stopped and got us a second Hibiscus which came out in bloom almost immediately. It is super gorgeous and holds still much more easily than Marry.

A quick trip outside offers a variety of blooming things at the moment; it’s pretty unreal how gorgeous our village has been this spring. I don’t think there’s a rule that you must have at least one flowering tree in your garden, but there might as well be. We have at least four, and our garden looks like an overgrown mess compared to most of our neighbors. In our defense, I’ve been trying to clean it up but I keep filling up our bio waste garbage bin and having to wait another week before I can fit anything else inside. End digression.

And a few more shots from around town…

I finally took a bunch of pictures of our adorable local market square and little castle, which I’ll try to post later this week. Again, try. 🙂

Since apparently pictures of people are more interesting, here’s one of me that BV took when he took his turn playing with the new toy. I had to distract the cat from chewing on cords or something. In retrospect, giving her an old climbing rope aka The Snake, was perhaps not the best choice. Of course, it’s her favorite toy.

new toy10And yes, if you show up at our house unannounced, I will pretty much be wearing my pajamas. And there will be a massive pile of stuff in the living room waiting to be burned. Please excuse the mess.

Lastly, for those of you who were wondering just what on Earth we were going to do with those sweet-ass antlers we bought at the flea market the other weekend (again, follow on Instagram!), here you go…

They do complement the whiskey and Schnapps bar nicely, if I do say so myself.

That’s about it for the moment, but hopefully more fun mit Fotografie to come. As always, thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “A New Toy

  1. Have fun with the new camera!

    I have a suggestion as an alternative to printing the english manual- e-mail the pdf to yourself and store it on your iPhone… you already carry it everywhere, so it’s easy to reference the manual if it’s in your pocket… 🙂

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

