A Walk Around Town

Back in October, I moved to my new ‘hood. Besides the post I wrote about our awesome Wappen, I haven’t mentioned it much, but it is a pretty cute little town. The tricky thing about Bavaria though, is that most of the small towns or villages are adorable. Half-timbered houses surround market squares, gelato shops open their brightly colored awnings over the sidewalks, small castles dot the landscape, and church spires poke above the red roofs.

Our town sits on top of a small ridge, with an old look-out tower rising above the trees as you drive towards it. The main marketplace is about a 10-minute walk from our house, but I haven’t spent a whole lot of time there as it’s in the opposite direction of the small commercial area where we do most of our shopping. Now that the summer is coming, hopefully we’ll wander that way more often as the gelato shop always beckons.

Last week I took the new camera out for a spin on a beautiful day, and today I’d like to share some of the pictures.

Through an old city gate, you find our market square, which is surrounded by old houses.

Fachwerk!  How I love it. It never gets old, and if I ever get to live in a Fachwerk house, I will be a very happy camper.

new town2

Through another gate, there’s an open area and the small castle garden. In summer they do some different fests, concerts, and small theater performances here.

Finally you cross a bridge to the castle itself.

new town17

Come on in!

I know castles are all ubiquitous and what-not here, but that doesn’t make me enjoy them any less. I’ve lived in three places in the last five years and I get warm fuzzies any time I’ve seen their castles. Europe!

And? What do you like about where you live?

2 thoughts on “A Walk Around Town

  1. We have a castle above our town as well, and it’s my favorite place for a morning walk! I never tire of taking pictures up there. Our last town had more of the Fachwerk, which is amazing. Our current town has an assortment of brightly painted buildings set along the river. I love the variety

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

