Strasbourg in Pictures

Ah, finally. The trouble with having a sweet-ass new camera means that the number of pictures I took two weeks ago in Strasbourg was a bit higher than the last few trips I’ve taken. And since I’m an indecisive person and would rather spend my time outside (I’m writing this on our Bierbank* in the garden, actually), then sit inside writing long-winded weekend recaps, a photo essay it is.

I’ve broken it down into a few categories, and as per usual, just click on a picture to view the entire gallery complete with whatever captions I feel like throwing in there. First though, a teaser picture, and the rest you find after the jump….

Welcome to France, here's your sweet view for the weekend.

Welcome to France, here’s your sweet view for the weekend.

River Views

Our first impression of the city was the walk along the river to our flat. Fitting, as the central part of the city (and therefore the touristy stuff), is on an island surrounded by rivers.

We stayed in one of these colorful houses.

We stayed in one of these colorful houses.

str river4

Architecture

Probably the most-photographed part of Strasbourg is its “Le Petit France” area, which was really beautiful, and we’ll get to that in a second, have no fear. Before that though, here are some shots from the rest of town, where you were hard-pressed to find a building that wasn’t interesting in one way or another.

I don't remember what this was exactly, but I'm hoping it wasn't a restaurant.

I don’t remember what this was exactly, but I’m hoping it wasn’t a restaurant.

 

Right near our house was the International School of Strasbourg. Considering the city is the home to the EU Parliament, I imagine they have extra need for an impressive international school. I want to go here, I mean, it looks like French Hogwarts!

Le Petit France, or, My Love Affair with Fachwerk Continues

Most of these were from the cobblestoned, wooden shuttered area of LPF, but Fachwerk was to be found everywhere in the city. So some pictures came from elsewhere.

str lpf24

 

Love. Love it.

Love. Love it.

Notre Dame de Strasbourg

Whew, it’s been a while since I’ve been in a serious cathedral. We have beautiful churches here in Nbg, and they are not exactly small, but they can’t compete with the sheer grandeur of this one. If you want to get your flying buttress and gargoyle-filled Gothic architecture fix, head on down to Strasbourg.

There are few things more grand than cathedrals at night.

There are few things more grand than cathedrals at night.

Doors

I take pictures of doors wherever I go, so here are a few I found interesting. I’m particularly fond of doors with dates over them, so you can see a few of those below.

 

Crests

Quite a few streets were festooned with hanging crests. Some I think were just advertisements for shops in the streets, and some seemed to mark historical events, but quite a few I’m not sure about. Perhaps local guilds? Clue me in if you know!

 

Markets

Saturday morning we checked out the local Flea/Antiquities Market, which is conveniently located right next to the Farmer’s Market. Both were busy but some of those people had to majorly commit to waiting in line for their ham. The lines were long, but with the smells wafting from the butcher stands or the bread stands, I could understand why. str market9

Street Art

There wasn’t a ton of street art or graffiti in Strasbourg, but we did see a few small samplings around town…

This house was completely painted and completely gorgeous.

This house was completely painted and completely gorgeous.

Random Bits

No real category for these things, I just liked them. πŸ™‚

Have you been to Strasbourg? If not, have I been convincing? πŸ˜‰

str misc3

*Picnic table, but in true German fashion the name references the drinking of beer.

9 thoughts on “Strasbourg in Pictures

    • Thanks Alex, I’m a fan of doors. Next time you’re in Prague keep an eye out, they have some gorgeous ones! And indeed, Strasbourg in the sun is hard to beat, I’m already looking forward to the next trip. πŸ™‚

  1. Great pics! You commented on the fachwerk when I posted my own pictures of Strasbourg. LOL.

    Did you stay in the cathedral long enough to hear the astronomical clock’s Procession of Saints?

    • Thanks Steven! We didn’t stick around for the clock to go off, it was crowded enough in that part of the cathedral as it was. Plus Prague filled my life quota on Astrological Clock processions.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Snapshots: Leafy Strasbourg | Heather Goes to Deutschland

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

