Grab Your Maß… and a Mop

This past weekend was the opening of yet another Oktoberfest. Last year, I was there on opening day, and some of you may recall my “before-and-after” pictures on Instagram. If not, here you go…

Because I wasn’t there, I only got to hear about the various shenanigans on the radio. On Saturday, the DJs were having an absolute field day making fun of the Munich mayor, who traditionally opens the fest by tapping the first keg in the Schottenhamel tent. What was so funny? Well apparently, the poor mayor took four whole hits to tap the keg. In his defense, he is a new mayor, and now I guess he knows to do some more arm exercises before the opening ceremony next year.

The radio wasn’t the only place where a few jokes were going around. BV’s university group has a ongoing group chat going, and they often send funny pictures and videos to each other. After the opening ceremony, this one got sent around, and I’d like to share it with you all as well. It’s in German, but you really don’t need to understand much here.

 

Where I’m from, we call that a party foul. As long as the mayor can avoid doing something like that, I think he’s doing okay.

As for me, I’m not planning on any serious festing this year… but that can always change. I may have to grab my Maß at some point in 2014. I just hope I can remember the words to “Sweet Caroline”…

Did you get to opening day?

6 thoughts on “Grab Your Maß… and a Mop

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

