Silly Questions, Mountain Answers

On more than one occasion, friends have incredulously questioned the fact that I enjoy hiking in the mountains. Usually the conversation goes something like this:

Friend: So you like this hiking thing, huh?

Me: Ummm…. yes? If I didn’t like it, I probably wouldn’t do it… it’s kind of a lot of work.

Friend: Yeah,  I wouldn’t do that.

This confuses me to no end. Perhaps I don’t look like the type of person that hauls themselves up and down large expanses of rock (see: This Guy), or perhaps they just don’t get why anyone would do that for fun. But I do, and I love it.

Ages and ages ago, I wrote this post about why I love the German mountains, and every word of it is still true.  After this weekend’s trip, I thought I’d share two more reasons why this question baffles me.

I give you: Sunday’s sunset…

hochries sunsetAnd if that doesn’t convince you, how about Monday’s sunrise…

hochries sunriseYes, that is a very poorly placed flagpole, at least from our room’s window.

Flagpole or not though, those views aren’t happening at sea level.

So. Does that clear it up for anyone?

 

*Ironically, this Wednesday post is brought to you because I’m home sick from a cold that came on after sweating my way up and down this mountain.

So. Worth. It.

6 thoughts on “Silly Questions, Mountain Answers

      • Yeah, I can’t wait to get started! I don’t think I’ll go too far before spring though – I want to see the place at its best and it’s probably a bit miserable mid-winter. Still, cosy fires and cake could tempt me 😉

  1. Beautiful pictures. I moan like anything when we are in the middle of a hike, but once you get to the top, it really is worth it! 🙂

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

