Questionable Goodies…

Judging by my Facebook newsfeed, Halloween mania in the States is in full swing. Not a day has gone by this month that I haven’t seen pictures of tots in pumpkin patches, recipes for DIY Pumpkin Spice Lattes, or those same tots sleeping in their Halloween costumes that they are apparently refusing to take off.

Here in Germany, it’s a different story. There are a handful of costumes for sale, but that holiday still hasn’t caught on here. Instead, we’re already being treated to piles of Christmas chocolates, and so much Lebkuchen (gingerbread), that it almost makes my mouth water to look at. But as with soooo many things, there is an unofficial rule that you can’t buy/eat said Lebkuchen until November 11th. So we wait.

Today I was stocking up on cheap wine at the local Edeka, when I was stopped short by my absolute new favorite Advent calendar. I can’t remember if I’ve ever posted on that subject before, but I have never in my life seen such an impressive variety of Advent calendars as I have here. They can be filled with toys, make up, or even an entire calendar filled with beer. But hanging there, flanking the display of GlΓΌhwein, and related accessories, I saw these little numbers…

At least they were stashed away in the liquor section, and not directly next to the Haribo candies. But I am happy to see that both the ladies and the gentlemen can have a little extra holiday fun. Advent calendars: not just for the Kinder anymore.

8 thoughts on “Questionable Goodies…

  1. those are AMAZING, although I’d be afraid to open those lil doors. Does it have a new tiny sex toy for each day?

    this would be perfect for my company’s white elephant gift exchange (yes, I work with weird people)

    • Hm. I suspect chocolate, but I can make a closer inspection on my next Edeka trip. If you’d like close up photos to determine the door placement, just let me know.

      And that seems like a fitting contribution to the exchange after all the Hasselhof teasing you’ve endured over the years! πŸ˜‰

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

