Snowshoeing Conversations: Vol. 1

Before I get to the main point of this post, I am happy to announce that yesterday I finally finally got to pick up my new residence permit. I’m good for two years again, so thank goodness we won’t have to repeat that whole rodeo for a hot minute. I wanted to take a triumphant leaping picture outside of our Ausländeramt, but our appointment was at 8:15am, and since I’m neither a morning person nor a jumper, I decided against it. Suffice to say that there was some skipping, and a prosecco celebration last night. You’d think after dealing with this nonsense for six years, it’d get less stressful… it doesn’t. Either way, no worries for two more years! Woo!

On to the snowshoes!

Since we weren’t able to leave the country until I had that stupid piece of plastic in my hand, BV and I decided to make a quick escape to the mountains at the end of our respective Christmas breaks. (Side note: he managed to come down with a cold, extending his Christmas break by one week, and infecting me enough to cancel one day of classes last week. Danke for that one, honey.)

He’s a big fan of skiing, but I’ve never done it, and since the mountains are full of snow, what else could we do? Answer: Snowshoe. Something else I’ve never done, but at least it doesn’t involve plummeting downhill at the speed of ice without really knowing how to stop. Unless of course, you do it wrong.

We figured out a place to stay, and a place where we could rent the snowshoes from, and set off for the mountains. Pro tip: if you’re planning on renting things from the Deutsche Alpenverein, do it early. Turns out they’re closed over the Christmas holidays, presumably because everyone who works there is, you know, in the Alps. Should’ve seen that one coming.

We opted to stay in Ettal, not too far from Garmisch-Partenkirchen. It was only two overnights, but we had an absolutely perfect couple of days for it. Instead of posting all the blue sky and snow-filled pictures we took, I’ll use a few posts to share some of the silly conversations we had.

Snowshoeversation* One:

…After roughly 45 minutes of snowshoeing on our first day…

H: BV, I’m going to say something, and I would like you to remind me of it tomorrow, when I probably won’t be able to move.

BV: Oooooookay. What?

H: I’ve been in the mountains in winter a few times, but usually it’s just to do some sight-seeing kind of thing… like taking the train/cable car up to the Zugspitze, or seeing a castle or something. And I’ve always been surrounded by people dressed in brightly colored athletic gear, who are in the mountains to do cool, outdoorsy sorts of things.

BV: And?

H: And it’s kind of nice to be one of those people here to do cool, outdoorsy things. Even if neither of us are in color-coordinated gear from Jack Wolfskin. I just want you to remind me of this tomorrow when I can’t move my legs.

Luckily, as you can see from the above photo, my legs were fully functional on day two.

Snowshoeversation Two:

…Upon reaching a split in the trail with some interesting signage…

H: Soooo, what exactly are you allowed to do here?

BV: Hike… that’s about it.

H: Okay, I get most of them, but what’s up with the paragliding? It’s pretty flat here, where would they jump from?

BV: It probably means you aren’t supposed to land here, or hike up with your gear and jump from above here.

H: Well, I guess the second part makes sense, but how in the world would someone know not to land here if they don’t see the sign?? Are they supposed to pull up and take off again if they do?

BV: They would see the sign.

H: Well, at least no one will land on the guy cooking his illegal sausages.

no fun allowed

*What? Germans aren’t the only ones that can invent weird and long words.

 

 

19 thoughts on “Snowshoeing Conversations: Vol. 1

  1. Yay, good on you for givingtheGermansarunfortheirmoney 😉
    I’m still stunned that there is a place in Germany where cooking sausages is illegal! And congrats on the permit! 🙂

  2. YAY for residence permit! If we move to Switzerland, I’m going to have to get one of them. We’re currently waiting for the tax advisers to tell us if that’s even possible seeing as I won’t be working in Switzerland and we’re not married. All the permits I’ve found have either been linked to a work permit or for family members of someone who has a work/residence permit (or is Swiss). The information I read specifically said “spouse” and specified what would happen in the event of a divorce…

  3. That sign’s hilarious! Congrats on the residence permit too! Love snow shoe-ing! I am married to a ski expert but I hate it and can’t ski to save my life, so that’s usually what I end up doing too! 😀

    • I thought so, too. 🙂 I’m a bit disappointed that they didn’t use the little cartoon guy to illustrate the paragliding point though. Way to drop the ball on that one, sign guys. We will definitely be repeating the snowshoe adventures, hopefully again this winter. It was too much fun!

  4. Pingback: Gone Hiking: A Trip Over Reit in Winkl | Heather Goes to Deutschland

  5. Pingback: 2015 Recapped | Heather Goes to Deutschland

  6. Pingback: Sunday Snapshots: Snowy Corners | Heather Goes to Deutschland

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

