Snowshoeing Conversations: Vol. 2

Judging from my Instagram feed over the weekend, I’m currently living in the one corner of Germany that isn’t covered in white fluffiness. It did snow for about 30 minutes yesterday, and it was lovely, but it melted as soon as it hit the ground. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy to not be shoveling right now, and I’m quite alright with being able to leave the house in only my winter vest… but the GRAY. Ugh, the gray. Gray skies here make me long for the mountains, and that means it’s time for another round of snowshoe silliness.

Snowshoeversation Three:

Lovely white virgin snow meant that BV and I had lots of opportunity to dust off our Ranger Rick skills, and do a little track identification. There were lots of different animals represented, from a house cat that we tracked across the white plain all the way back to where he jumped the fence to get home; to the delicate tracks of a deer in the forest. We also found the cat’s quarry, in a large area that was completely covered with the tracks of at least one very busy mouse. My favorite though, sparked this conversation…

Hop hop hop.

Hop hop hop.

H: Hey, check it out!

BV: Ooooh, those are very nice ones.

H: So, what do you think?

BV: What do you mean?

H: Well, we are pretty far south in Bavaria.

BV: And?

H: Well if we are so far south in Bavaria, what are the odds that they belong to…. ZE WOLPERTINGER!

(And if any of you have forgotten what a Wolpertiger is, let me refresh your memories…)

Yes, one is a Wolpertinger. Beware.

Yes, one is a Wolpertinger. Beware.

Snowshoeversation Four:

We followed the trail past the amusing signage from Snowshoeversation Two, and climbed up the mountain a bit. There was an Alm further up the trail but since we were short on time, we just enjoyed the view from part of the way up the mountain. On the way up, there were two areas that were full of fallen ice from small avalanches. Even more impressive though, was a giant wall of icicles. We stopped for a few photos on the way up, and then BV stopped again on the way down. I went on down without him, until I reached a point where the path turned and I couldn’t see him anymore. I waited there, and waited, and waited some more. I was starting to get a little concerned, so I turned and started going back up. Eventually I saw his red jacket through the trees, and when he caught up…

H: Hey, Michael Scott*, what were you doing up there? Not looking at icicles from directly underneath, I hope?

BV: What? No?

H: Are you sure? Remember what Dwight said (summarizes the clip below…)

BV: No, no. There were just some things frozen and I was taking pictures of them. Not from directly underneath!

And I believed him until I saw several pictures like this one…

icicles2

Back. Up.

This kids, is too close. Back. Up.

As an illustration, here is what proper icicle photography distance looks like.

icicles1Note the safe distance from sudden and horrible icy death.

To be fair though, he did get some legitimately cool pictures of the plants that were frozen at the base of the rock.

icicles3Cool (and cold)… but remember, safety first! Dwight’s advice is not always the best, but being impaled would suck.

*Any day in which neither of us manages at least one reference from ‘The Office’ is a wasted day.

 

19 thoughts on “Snowshoeing Conversations: Vol. 2

  1. Ooh, the plants look so cool! I was living in constant fear in LV of being impaled by an icicle! They were bloody huge! It’s not snowing here either but I’m happy about that πŸ™‚

    • We had some giant ones back home in Wisconsin, too. Being impaled by one would definitely make for a rough day! Good to hear that you aren’t missing the snow too much up there… I have no desire to shovel but all the gray and rainy days make me want to pack up and head for Spain! (Or anywhere that may have a hint of sun, really.)

  2. Love that last photo particularly, it’s like something out of a fairytale. As are wolpertingers – do you think anyone has ever seen one and thought that they actually exist? πŸ˜€

    • Danke! I’ll tell BV, he’ll be happy that people appreciate his photo skills. πŸ™‚ And I would hope that no one (maybe minus kids) really thinks that they’re real… but I’ve had multiple students ask me about jackalopes in the States… so hard to say?!

  3. Pingback: 2015 Recapped | Heather Goes to Deutschland

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

