Weird and Wacky Wednesday: Tongue Twistin’

Scene: My last group of the day, made up of seven very entertaining elementary students.

Activity: Working on pronunciation, by teaching each other tongue twisters.

peter piper

Subject: Helga, a delightfully Franconian woman, who is very good-natured even when she finds herself completely flummoxed by the English language. Which is fairly often. She hates grammar with every fiber of her being.

Today however, she took the task at hand on headfirst, and did a pretty decent job of teaching her partner about woodchucks chucking wood. Afterwards, it was her turn to learn, and she was doing pretty well until….

(while staring intently at me, as if I had the words printed on my forehead…)

“Peter Piper picked a pick of pickled peckers.”

….at which point, I almost soiled my pants from laughing so hard. Because I only got three hours of sleep last night which makes everything alternately funny or annoying as hell. And I also have the sense of humor of a 12-year old boy.

No, I did not explain the significance of the word “peckers.” Luckily, everyone was laughing through most of the activity, which meant my near-accident went mostly unnoticed. Thank goodness because that is a can of worms that does not need to be opened with a beginner group. Eek.

So tell me, oh readers… was it really funny? Do you also have the sense of humor of the prepubescent male? Let me know in ze comments!

5 thoughts on “Weird and Wacky Wednesday: Tongue Twistin’

  1. That is definitely snort-worthy! I’d probably have gone one step further and explained what it meant though πŸ˜‰
    I taught a group ‘to hit someone where the sun don’t shine’ today πŸ™‚

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

