BV on Hunde

Something fairly important to know about me is that I love dogs. I coo over dogs like other women coo over babies. I want to befriend every dog I see, whereas I think that most babies – particularly newborns – look like potatoes in hats. I can imagine that this tendency would annoy the bejeezus out of some people, but luckily BV finds it cute. So much so that when we adopted Marry die Katze from the animal shelter, we couldn’t even go into the dog room, because BV knew that we’d come out with a dog. We’ve been locked in an ongoing negotiation for the duration of our relationship on how many dogs we can have. I started at ten, he started at one, and at present I have him up to two and a half. Which half it will be, is to be determined.

Since I spend a lot of time noticing the various four-legged friends out and about in the world, it follows that we have a lot of conversations about dogs. Oddly enough though, at no point in BV’s English education did he learn different dog breeds! Horrible, I know. We also run into this same language gap when it comes to trees, flowers, sea creatures, and assorted other topics. It makes for some entertaining conversations, and a fair amount of reliance on the glory of Google.

Not long ago, we were enjoying a post-shopping stop in one of NΓΌrnberg’s Irish Pubs and when I looked around for the waiter, I saw something much more interesting.

H: “Ohhhhhh, there’s a gorgeous Australian Shepherd over there!”

BV: “A what?”

H: “An Australian Shepherd? It’s a breed of dog. He has beautiful mottled fur, and looks like he has the blue eyes too.”

BV: “Huh, I’m not sure if I know that one. I can’t see it from here though.”

H: “Eh, you can just look when we leave. I’ve got no service down here, otherwise I’d look for a picture. It’s beautiful though… trust me.”

One beer later for us, and the table with the dog was leaving the bar…

BV: “Oh, there goes the dog. Wow, that is beautiful. But that’s not what I thought it looked like.”

H: “Really? What did you think it would look like?”

BV: “I guess I thought it would be a combination of a German Shepherd and a Dingo.”

H: *blank stare*

BV: “An Australian Shepherd? Like a German Shepherd mixed with a Dingo.”

H: *laughs, laughs more*

I pretty much spent the rest of the evening muttering “dingo” under my breath and giggling.

So to review, this plus this

may equal this…

Sorry honey, but I don’t think so.

Some friends have commented that BV’s English is now so good that we should exclusively speak German together so that I can get caught up. But clearly there are some hugely important gaps in his vocabulary that need to be filled. And certainly we’ll be needing that vocabulary to figure out which ten dogs we’ll be having.

And now, I’m off to Google image search for puppies. Puppies!

15 thoughts on “BV on Hunde

    • And logistics! According to my internet research after this conversation, the Australian Shepherd has literally nothing to do with Australia whatsoever. So unless some of the dogs were really excellent swimmers, they wouldn’t have worked that one out. BV still doesn’t believe me though. πŸ˜‰
      And thanks… we do keep ourselves entertained. Haha.

  1. My husband and I could have had this very conversation! I do dog breeds (and most horse breeds) like he does cars. I can only id cars when I see their logo, and I still won’t know what make it is. But I can spot a collie from half a mile away. I identify the houses around us by the dogs that live there. “The family on the corner with the black lab…” I once wondered out loud how he could not see the difference between a St. Bernard and a Bernese Mountain Dog, and he said, “It’s like you not being able to see the difference between a Porsche and a Ferrari.” Ah…I get it now. πŸ™‚

    • Haha! I know exactly what you mean, I do the same thing with neighbors around here. A Bernese Mountain Dog is pretty high on my list, and finally one day BV made a joke about Beethoven… and I was like, “wait, what? No.” Then there was more googling to prove the difference. I’m okay with some American cars, but most Euro cars look the same to me. Small hatchbacks. That’s about all you need to know. πŸ™‚

  2. Two and a half dogs? Sounds messy πŸ˜‰

    I love dogs, but I’ve actually never heard of an Australian Shepherd. BV has a great imagination πŸ˜€ I want a Beagle. or a Westie. or a Scottie dog. If I ever get the latter, he will be named Hamish (because a Scottie dog obviously needs a Scottish name!).

    Some babies are cute, some aren’t… just like not all grown up people look attractive. My little brother was born really early and looked like a prawn, but my other brother was adorable (and remained so all the way through his childhood). He’s mixed race though, so he has an unfair advantage! You can’t be coffee-coloured and NOT look cute!

    • No matter how you slice it, haha. You are right though. We’ve been stuck on 2.5 for too long. The sooner I get him up to 3, the better. πŸ™‚ And Hamish the Scottie sounds adorable.
      You are right about adults being the same as babies. I just see far more babies in my newsfeed these days… until they get regulated to the partial block setting. Your brother is lucky… I’d love to be even slightly coffee-ish right now. β˜€οΈ

  3. “whereas I think that most babies – particularly newborns – look like potatoes in hats.” hahahaha I really did laugh out loud at this one. πŸ˜€ But I’ve noticed that rather than potatoes, some look like little Yodas in hats…. I feel you with the dog thing — I’ve found myself losing hours on “Google Images: Puppies”

    • Thanks Dana, and I’m glad it gave you a giggle! And you’ve got a point about some resembling Yoda. I’d rather hang out with Yoda than a baby though… that’s an easy one. Google image searching for puppies is far and away one of my favorite pick-me-up activities if I’m feeling blue, so it’s good to hear that I’m not the only one! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. πŸ™‚

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

