Motivational Napping

For many people in these parts, Easter means a break from school or work. For me, it means extra work as I took over some classes for another teacher whose children are currently on school vacation for two weeks. As a result, that means I’ve been much busier than usual, and pretty much living on the train for the last week and a half. We had huge and crazy storms all over the area last week, and I think I spent more time in various states of dampness than I did dry. Not a good time, not at all. Happily this week the forecast calls for sun everyday… thank goodness. I am so ready to put away my winter boots (which desperately need to be re-soled), and if I have to wear my hated socks for much longer I might light my feet on fire.

Part of my substitution schedule involves a fair amount of wandering around, as the train only stops in that village once an hour. Last week I killed time in cafes -trying unsuccessfully to dry out – but I much prefer to stroll in the sun and do a bit of window shopping. The particular village I’ve been traveling to is a small tourist destination in the area, due to its thermal baths, museum, and the local vineyards, and happily it has an abundance of cutesy little shops with great window displays.

Today while slowly making my way back to the train station, I spotted this gem and just wanted to share it…

motivational pillows

I’m not sure if you’re supposed to nap on the thing, or just look at it while doing lunges/running around like Rocky. It’s as if someone took a bunch of Oprah quotes and just slapped them on a pillow. In other news, I’m kind of tempted to go back and buy that adorable lemonade clock, and maybe the Audrey Hepburn mug, too. But I think I’d have to drink champagne out of it, because tea and Audrey just don’t go together.

7 thoughts on “Motivational Napping

  1. Maybe the phrases are supposed to seep into your subconscious mind while you sleep? We had storms too. Not as crazy as elsewhere, but plenty of trains were delayed or cancelled.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

