German Radio: Them’s Fightin’ Words

Yesterday, BV and I were on our way to pick up his mom for lunch, when we heard something very curious on the radio. I was zoning out, staring at joggers on the canal, and all I really heard the DJ say was something about “böse, böse, böse.” ‘Böse‘ can be translated to bad, wicked, evil, or anything you prefer along those lines. BV gave a little laugh, and asked me if I had caught the story. Since I hadn’t, he clarified.

The DJ had said that at least once a year, everyone should hang their laundry outside, to show solidarity against the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad* invention of…

the dryer.

So yes, everyone in Germany should be hanging their laundry outside to protest against the devilish, environment-killing dryer.

Hey DJ?

Screw. You.

As an American who has been living abroad for six years now, I have learned to live without a dryer. And it still sucks. It sucks, hard.

You know what else is terrible and horrible?

Washing jeans and not being able to wear them for four days, even though you had them hung outside in spring, or directly in front of a roaring fire in winter. As a poor English teacher who only has two pairs of jeans available for daily wear (both of which are in desperate need of replacement at the moment), I really, really loathe having to plan out my washing sequence in order to have jeans ready to wear to work.

Guess what else isn’t environmentally-friendly? Trying desperately to dry the last damp spots on jeans that have been “drying” for three days with a hair dryer before I have to leave in the morning.

So Mr. DJ, please shut up. I’m trying to convince my boyfriend that dryers are not the devil, and that if, at some point in the future we should decide to spawn rugrats of our own, we will be needing a dryer. And if this is going to become some sort of anti-dryer campaign, nationwide… I’m going to retaliate by leaving all the lights on. All the time. So there.

To wit, this is not a protest. I just need to wear my jeans tomorrow and I’m hoping fresh spring air makes it possible. Better keep the hair dryer nearby though…

Not. A. Protest.

Not. A. Protest.

 

*apologies if that particular word sequence is trademarked by a publishing company.

11 thoughts on “German Radio: Them’s Fightin’ Words

  1. Scratchy towels, damp denim and hanging dozens of individual toddler socks….not cool, Mr. DJ, not cool. Add to that the spatial problem of only being able to do as much laundry as will fit on the drying rack at one time and it equals laundry becoming a daily chore. Except Sunday, of course. 😉

    • Fight the DJ! I miss fluffy towels like the desert misses the rain. And bed linens? How the hell do you fit even one bed’s worth of duvet covers on the rack in a decent way? Agh. We totally do laundry on Sundays though… that’s an advantage to our place. No one downstairs to complain. 🙂

  2. I too am an American who has lived in a land of conservation (Australia) and environmentally friendly folks. For the most part, I think this is fabulous. But, like you, I want to use a clothes dryer! We have one, but it holds about two towels in it for one cycle. I feel your pain.

  3. I’m amused by the fact that he thinks hanging clothes out once a year will help. Sure, use your dryer all year round, but at least once a year protest by hangling things outside!!

  4. I miss having a dryer soooo much. My clothes are constantly stiff and weird. Plus they get super stretched out over time without having a dryer to shrink them back to human sizes. I feel like such a spoiled American for missing my dryer, but my shirts are all too big and my pants feel like cardboard. The struggle has never been more real!

  5. I missed a dryer so much while I was over there. The dryer in my apartment is crappy though, and I have to run it two or three times to dry my jeans… it’s still faster than a hang rack, but it’s no less frustrating.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

