‘Schland + Spargel = Tru Luv 4Eva

Ah, spring… the flowers are blooming, the birds are singing, the train drivers are striking, and you may want to bring a clothespin if you plan on using a public restroom around here. Why? Because it’s asparagus season, aka, Spargelzeit!

I’ve written about the German love of asparagus before, but since it’s been a while, I thought the time was ripe (vegetable jokes) to post about it again. In the last few weeks, I’ve eaten off of a few local asparagus menus, and seen piles of the white gold at all the markets.

spargel standSorry about the slight blurriness. There was a lot of activity around this stand in the Fürth market, and it was hard to get around all the people trying to get their Spargel fix while simultaneously trying not to drop my cappuccino. Priorities.

If you want more information about the German love of the asparagus, I recommend this excellent post over at Laptops and Lederhosen. After reading that, I realized that my life would not be complete until I have found and feasted upon asparagus ice cream. Who knew?

For my part though, I found the definitive proof that asparagus love is not only timeless, but something that merits being captured and preserved forever. Behold…

spargel portraitNow, some people might say that this is a still life with asparagus. I disagree. I say that this is a portrait of spring’s favorite vegetable.

Thanks to the artist, Carl Schuch, and the Neue Pinakothek in Munich, for making today’s post possible.

And now, I’m off to google recipes for the last thing I ate from the Spargel menu. If I can find it, I shall report back!

16 thoughts on “‘Schland + Spargel = Tru Luv 4Eva

  1. We got an (extra) email at work today telling us that there was Spargel in the canteen at lunchtime. Serious stuff.

      • White. I’ve seen it on a boards outside a few restaurants here in Switzerland and I saw a van driving around advertising “frische Spargel” at the weekend, but to be honest I haven’t really been out enough to see much of anything yet. They definitely have it at the supermarket though 😀

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

