BV on Aging

Last week, BV and I were driving home from lunch with his parents and we were discussing the idea of maturity levels. I was saying that today, at the ripe old age of 32, I do not necessarily feel like the same person I was at age 18 (and thank goodness). While some things have not changed, in other ways I am a vastly different person. Whether or not I’m more mature is debatable, as I still laugh at videos of people falling down, or the occasional dick joke, but in other ways, my worldview is miles away from when I left home and went to college a week after I turned 18. Also, I’m crankier in crowds.

youths

This is how I feel when I ride the train at school times. Via

I went on to say that I would imagine that mostΒ  people feel somewhat the same way, and I anticipate feeling different at 60 than I do today. In the next 28 years, I fully expect to learn things that will affect the way I look at and feel about life, and those experiences will continue to mold me (at least to some extent).

In response to this rambling speech, BV thought for a moment and responded,

“I don’t know. I was always premature.”

After I stopped laughing myself nearly into an asthma attack, we then got to have a discussion about ‘premature’ vs ‘mature for one’s age,’ which is of course what he meant. Hopefully telling him that ‘premature’ is usually tied to either babies or ejaculation, he can remember the difference.

I recounted this story to a fellow English teacher friend of mine at lunch yesterday and after she finished laughing, she had to tip her hat to BV’s flawless use of logic in coming up with premature to describe the way he felt at 18. If you think about it, it should make perfect sense in that way. Buuuuut, as all of us English teachers know, that is not the way our lovely language works.

So… did you also feel premature? Or do you think we always change? Let me know in the comments!

 

9 thoughts on “BV on Aging

  1. Hahahaha!
    No, I was not “pre-mature”, at least not as a teen/young adult. When I was a child I was probably more mature that most people my age because I was forced to grow up relatively quickly.

    • All bets are off in the teenage years, I think! I always felt more mature as well, but more because I didn’t necessarily connect with the kids that were my age. At least we’re both aging well, right? πŸ˜‰

  2. I’m still not terribly mature, to be honest. I almost never feel like an actual grown-up. And I’m with Ami’s comment above; I wish I’d made better decisions in my teens and twenties…

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

