The Quest for Balance Continues…

Another year, another May come and gone like a flash. Once again, it’s been weeks since my last non-Sunday photo post… sorry about that! While I don’t want to be a blogger who just posts for the sake of posting, I also feel out of sorts when I don’t update here on a regular basis. I think I’m doomed to float through the blogosphere always feeling like I lack on one end or another.

Buuuuut that seems a little dark, so let’s pick it up a bit. Things have been pretty busy around here, but there have been a lot of positives lately.

Work:

~2016 shall henceforth be known as the year when everyone decided they wanted English lessons again. Even May, which is notoriously full of public holidays and thus rough for us freelancers, ended up being pretty good. I picked up some filler classes and some new regular groups as well. At the moment I’m working four or five days a week, which is more than I’ve had in the last two years. Plus, my commutes are pretty scenic these days.

~BV is busy working away on his Master’s thesis at the moment. The original plan was for him to be finished sometime in July, but after evaluating the project’s status, he decided to push the deadline to mid-August. And thus, no fun shall be had until then. Maybe. We’ll see.

Life:

~May didn’t end up being quite as busy as last year, but since I was working more, and BV was in a thesis-induced panic, that was a good thing. We celebrated BV’s birthday with a few days in Munich, and also spent a weekend in Prague to see one of my old friends get married. Coincidentally, another friend was getting married the same day, and we ran smack into their party at dinner the night before. Sometimes Prague is a ridiculously small town, but we were very happy to get the chance to say congrats in person.

Balance:

~Both of us being gone more has meant that Marry die Katze has been upping her codependency game. It’s sweet when she comes to cuddle at 4am, but I’m trying to make sure that we both make an extra bit of time to play with her when we are home. Additionally, she’s been slightly nuttier than usual every time the weather changes, which has been roughly every ten minutes for the last few weeks.

She is the worst at posing. And the best at rubbing on your shoes.

She is the worst at posing. And the best at rubbing on your shoes.

~This year we discovered the absolute best defense against Mondays, and it’s called The Wine Show. It airs in the UK on Sundays but we’ve been watching it online the following evening. It’s pretty much all the best parts of travel shows and food shows + wine + British accents + lots and lots of HD shots of the Italian countryside. I recommend pairing it with a semi-fancy bottle of wine, and one of your favorite recipes. Mondays no longer suck in this house.

~Every now and then on this blog I’ve written about the fact that I am a total spaz when it comes to exercising. However, since learning last year that I have a thyroid problem, I figured that it’s probably best to stop buying Haribo crap on a thrice-weekly basis and move my butt slightly more. Starting at the beginning of the year, I’ve slowly been getting into yoga. I recognize that it’s not going to make me lose a ton of weight, but I like it, it feels good, I’m sleeping better, and as someone who is not at all flexible, I can actually see myself making teensy tinesy bits of progress which is encouraging. If anyone is thinking of giving it a try, my gateway was doing the 30-day challenge on Do You Yoga, and that led me to Bad Yogi. I’ve tried quite a few of the different yoga channels on YouTube, but thus far, Erin Motz (the Bad Yogi) is by far my favorite. The only downside is that most of her videos on YouTube are in the 10-15 minute range, so I’ve been doubling up and doing two or three per day. I doubt I’ll actually be doing headstands anytime soon, but Rome wasn’t built in a day and all that jazz.

That’s about all I’ve got for now, but I’m hoping to get myself onto a regular posting schedule soon (I also have a new planner which should help with that… yay for organization!), and also get back to reading and commenting on all the lovely blogs I follow. As always, it’s good to have goals.

9 thoughts on “The Quest for Balance Continues…

  1. Yay for having more work!

    It’s always a fine balance between feeling bad about not posting enough and feeling bad about neglecting the rest of your life to blog. Ironically, I find the more I post the less people are interested in my blog. Luckily I mainly post for myself 😉

    • Yay is right! It’s nice to have a little fun money for once.

      So true. I don’t know how some people write so much, and like I said, I don’t want to post just for the sake of posting. It seems the bloggers that post a ton write a lot more impersonal stuff, and that is just not as interesting to me. I always try to write for myself as well, because I consider this my record of events for when I’m old and senile. Haha.

  2. Aw, look at Marry’s see-how-neglected-I-am pose… she’s got it down to pat 😉

    Sometimes you need a break from blogging. I’ve just come back from one, with plenty of ideas. Two posts up, three more still in the fermentation barrel.

    • She’s a champ.

      Very true. I’ve got to catch up on your new posts… I saw the headlines on the train but couldn’t load the the whole thing. They sound promising though! 🙂

  3. Your commute is much more photogenic than mine, I’m jealous. I’ll definitely be checking out the wine show and the yoga channels, I need a Monday night show and to move my bum more. A blogging break always does me good, especially when life gets busy, finding a good rhythm takes me time.

    • Some days are definitely more scenic than others. I’m also in Nbg a lot more these days which has been a nice change of pace. Let me know what you think of the wine show/yoga… just remember, yoga comes BEFORE wine, not after. 🙂

  4. Good on you for the yoga stuff! I’ve been meaning to talk about exercise on my own blog for a while now. I started doing gym stuff, and I hate every second of it. But I keep going, because it’s important.

    • Yeah, saw you mentioned going to the gym a bit and the horrible contraptions that are involved. 🙂 Give the yoga channels a try and let me know how it goes. It took a while for me to see/feel any difference but there have definitely been major changes since the beginning of the year. I’m about to start an 8-week program and am pretty excited to see what happens (as I sit here eating the pizza we ordered last night, haha).

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

