31-Day Challenge: Day 1

Something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately is the idea of routine. It’s something I’ve always struggled with. Ever since I can remember, I’ve had the amazing ability to sleep for ten hours, wake up, and fall asleep again for an hour or two. I also have trouble allocating time for even the simplest of tasks, that could be done in tenths of the time I’ve spent procrastinating on them. This is especially problematic as a freelancer who is supposed to be responsible enough to keep all my ducks in a row for the multitude of classes that I’m currently teaching every week… but the struggle continues.

That brings me to the point of today’s post, and indeed, what I’m going to try to do in this little space of mine this month.

Over the last year and change, I’ve been making a conscientious effort to be better about all of these things. I think I’ve done fairly well, even trimming down my “sleeping in” time to an hour actually in the morning, rather than noonish on days off. This is a major accomplishment for me. I’ve also worked in exercise, primarily yoga, at least 4-5 days a week since last year. My gateway into that was a 30-day challenge I did last year in January, which I stuck to religiously, and have continued developing since then. I’ve found the framework of 30-day challenges to be quite helpful for me, and I’ve done a few variations of them over the last year, with more successes than failures.

Now that I’ve gotten sleep, movement, and my course load relatively under control, I decided that I want to begin to devote more time to writing. It’s always something that I’ve done (clearly, as you are reading this on a blog), but especially as busy as the last year has been, I found myself shelving my writing time in favor of other things. Some of those were productive, like long walks around the village, and some were less productive… how many Real Housewives shows can they possibly make? That’s the real question here.

When it comes to this blog, I’ve often found that the idea of writing a long-form breakdown of trips just exhausts me. Let’s be honest, I’m not a travel blogger. There are a lot of those out there, some of them doing truly excellent work, and others doing… work. While I do want to continue sharing some of my travels in this space, I don’t want that to be my consuming thought on trips. Plus, the whole process of weeding through my hundreds of pictures and looking up what exactly this thing was, or that thing was… it’s just not what I’m drawn to at this point.

I’ve always found the kind of writing I enjoy doing the most is more of the random, almost stream-of-consciousness variety, and that led me to the idea for my next 30 (or 31, in this case) day challenge. Every day for the month of May, I’m going to sit down here with a timer set for 15 minutes, and just see if I can get myself back into the habit of writing about something. Anything, really. I don’t know where these posts will take me, but I realized that if I want to get back into writing, the only thing to do is write. I may or may not have been listening to an excessive amount of the Magic Lessons podcast as well lately, and that may have helped this realization. Thanks, Liz Gilbert and co.

As I said, the goal here is to be as stream-of-consciousness as possible and just let it flow. Less editing, fewer pictures (though maybe I’ll sneak one or two in somewhere). I hope I can find some inspiration as I wander through town, ride the rails, or whatever that day finds me doing. We shall see… this is a promise to myself, I hope. If anyone reads along, I’m happy to have you here.

7 thoughts on “31-Day Challenge: Day 1

  1. Sounds like a fun idea. I’ll be following along.

    I am not a travel blogger either. If I was I would be a bad one… I still haven’t written about New Year’s Day in Glasgow! I do like to write about my travels though, so I can look back on them later and remember what on Earth all my photos are supposed to be πŸ˜‰

    • Danke! I always enjoy your traveling posts (and the rest of them), and I completely agree… it’ll be great to look back on them in the future and remember all the fun things I’ve done! But writing those long-form things like I used to do just… the thought is exhausting, haha. Guess that means life is busier than it used to be.
      ps-when is that Glasgow post coming? I’ll do one for Dublin when you get around to yours! πŸ˜‰

  2. I’m jealous of your ability to sleep longer… I never quite manage enough sleep, mostly because I always have difficulty winding down when I’m supposed to be conking out, and I usually have someplace to be or something to do in the morning. Blech!

    As for the blogging, I know somewhat where you’re coming from there. I never set out to be a travel blogger; my blog originally was just for my family back home while I was in Germany so they could see what I was up to. The thing I was up to, mostly, just happened to be travel. Now that I’m back inn the states, I don’t travel nearly as much, and I’ve struggled to reorient my blog to normal stationary life.

    Good luck on this challenge! I’ll try to catch up on all your days very soon.

    • It’s a gift, haha. But I know what you mean, if I MUST fall asleep because of an early morning it’s nearly impossible sometimes. Brains are jerks.
      I do miss reading about all your exotic adventures but the resettling into America has also been quite interesting. πŸ™‚ Keep posting when you want and I’ll keep reading (even if I’m crap at commenting).

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

