31-Day Challenge: Day 2

I’m starting today with a confession. When this whole writing challenge idea first occurred to me, instead of diving in, I first turned to technology. There had to be an app for this, am I right?

Well of course there is. I downloaded a version that promised a year’s worth of writing prompts, and figured that if there was a day during the challenge that stumped me, maybe I’d give that a shot.

Here I sit on the second day and what do I do? Well I pull out my phone, hit the button and what pops up?

“Writing advice for those starting out.”

Oh, universe.  You are a tricky little minx. How can I possibly give advice if I’m on the second day of a self-imposed challenge and I can’t even make myself start? Clearly I am in no position to give anyone advice, but I’m going to have to start with myself.

Hi, self. You wanted to do this as a stream of consciousness, so let’s give that a try.

There are currently mysterious noises coming from the kitchen. I’m in the living room, BV is in the bedroom (he’s been banished, because I cannot concentrate with him “project-ing” around the house), so what’s making the noise? It’s since stopped, and the culprit just came stalking into the living room. We are currently hosting Mia, a pint-sized tortoiseshell cat with a penchant for chasing Marry die Katze around the house at 3am, but also for opening cabinet doors. The noises I heard a minute ago were the distinctive squeaks of the door under our kitchen sink. The garbage can and plastic bags are almost as good of a cat playground as the wardrobe when I’m frantically trying to get dressed in the morning and there are cats flying in and out every time I open the door.

This morning was trying.

They’re both out of the kitchen now, though I didn’t hear the cabinet door thunk closed again, which means that it’s probably still open, and it’s probably just best to leave it that way, lest I wake up to those same squeaks in the middle of the night. Mia has now discovered a foil ball, leftover from tonight’s Lindt Easter egg dessert, and is losing her mind all over the place, while Marry looks on. Marry is normally a fairly playful cat, but she definitely defers to Mia on these visits. I don’t know how or when the hierarchy was determined, but it’s been the same every time Mia has come to stay.

Mia belongs to a fellow English teacher and friend, who has had a fairly busy travel schedule in the last year. He’s almost always had two cats, but his older cat sadly passed on to the Happy Hunting Grounds awhile back. Since Mia is a social creature, instead of leaving her at home and having a cat sitter stop by, he’s asked us to take her every so often, and we’re happy to do it. The two animals get along, as well as cats can, which is to say that we have yet to find blood on the floor when we get home. They play a bit, which mostly consists of hunting and chasing each other around the house in the middle of the night. Marry can be loud on her own sometimes, especially when she gets into her ‘kitty parkour’ routine, but the two of them together sound like elephants. Sometimes it’s quite convenient that we have the house to ourselves. The Midnight Thundercat routine most definitely would not fall in line with the German quiet hours regulations.

Despite the occasional all-night party, I’m of the firm opinion that having something furry at home is good for the soul. At 3am, the furry thing making party on my head makes that hard to remember sometimes, but I try.

And that kids, is how you go from writing advice to talking about cats for 15 minutes.

***

Editor’s Note: This is part of a 31-day challenge series for the month of May, in which I aim to spend 15 minutes writing about whatever strikes my fancy. Results may vary.

10 thoughts on “31-Day Challenge: Day 2

      • I wish! I didn’t even get any Easter chocolate – I bought Jan a massive egg with pralines and he got me nothing 😉 Christmas stuff is long gone. If I have it in the house, I eat it. SO it’s probably a good thing I don’t have any left 😉

      • Oh no! I hope you at least hit the sale rack and got some afterward! We’ve been trying to moderate sugar consumption so that’s why we’re still working on the Christmas stuff. I got piles of chocolate from students and then we left the country, haha. That helps to stretch it out!

  1. Awwwww, kitties!

    Squeaky cabinet doors drive me bonkers, and I always oil the hinges so they’re silent again. I just use a WD-40 pen for a few minutes. Do they even sell WD-40 in Germany? I don’t remember ever seeing it there.

    • Oddly it’s just that one. The rest are fine. They do sell WD-40 here, I know I bought it once for the sticky lock at my old place. There’s probably a can knocking around our house somewhere if I look hard enough.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

