31-Day Challenge: Day 5

There’s a great episode of Sex and the City where Carrie introduces the idea of “secret single behavior.” These are the sometimes oddball little things that people only do when they are really and truly alone. All the ladies had their own takes on this idea, minus Samantha who gave zero fucks about what anyone else thought. Go figure.

The problem with secret single behavior is that even when you find yourself in a great relationship, cohabitating or not, there’s another person around! And sometimes you just want to stand in the kitchen and eat your Saltine crackers while reading fashion magazines, am I right?

BV and I have now been living together for more than three years, and have struck a fairly good balance. We’re both the kind of people that need a little space once and awhile, and thankfully our place is big enough to allow for that. We call it “quiet time,” which means that he usually goes into the bedroom and plays computer games or watches sci-fi things that I’m not into, or works on different projects around the house. I usually take the living room and work on paperwork (rarely), write in this space (rarely), or watch terrible, terrible reality television (frequently, it’s my vice, let me have it). I do get the better end of this deal though, as I have a much more variable working schedule than he does and so I still have a fair bit of time during the day when I can come home and do some things. However, most of those I would not qualify as secret single behavior because they’re productive… like washing dishes or other things I become allergic to after sundown.

True secret single behavior for me can only occur on the evenings when he’s not at home, which brings us to today. He’s headed over to our friend the Gardener today, as he’s been busily ordering some devices that they need to repair some of the technical what-not in the nursery. The Gardener’s sister is also visiting from Italy, so he was anticipating a long evening over there of catching up and chatting. Because all work and no play makes BV a dull boy.

This means that I will probably have until at least 11 or so on my own here. In anticipation of this, I stopped on my way home from work and got an interesting-looking bottle of wine, a ball of buffalo mozzarella, and a few other odds and ends. The question now is what to do? The first step will be to make myself my favorite variation on a Caprese salad, and open the bottle of wine. After that? Remains to be seen.

***

Editor’s Note: This is part of a 31-day challenge series for the month of May, in which I aim to spend at least 15 minutes writing about whatever strikes my fancy. Results may vary.

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

