31-Day Challenge: Day 15

The last thing I said…

***

The last thing I said was, “I can wash the dishes since I’ll be here later. I don’t have to leave until nine. But you can pack the food bag.”

BV and I have pretty much been running around the house since we got home, me at about 7:30 and him shortly before. We’re off tomorrow to spend a few days in South Tyrol, but our plan to leave directly from work means that we are somewhat frantically trying to get ourselves together tonight.

We dropped Marry die Katze off at our friend S’s on Sunday, so she was taken care of, but I was out of the house for 12 hours today and the place is a total disaster. After I got home we threw together dinner, BV took the chance to haul all the plants out of the office and onto the balcony, while I put away laundry and packed my stuff together. Now he’s getting his bags packed, and organizing the last bits and bobs from the fridge that we’ll take along with us.

Normally on Tuesdays we ride to and from work together, but my first class is cancelled tomorrow. I’d love the chance to sleep in, but since we have to load up the car in the morning, that means I’ll still have to get up and going to get all my morning necessities in before he leaves. Then, (lucky me), I’ll clean up the disaster area of a kitchen with my extra bit of time here.

I would like to think of myself as an efficient packer, but the amount of stuff that we usually end up bringing for a long weekend, or in this case, five nights, gives me away. I imagine it’s a lot easier if you’re just planning on lounging at the beach or the pool, but since we’re planning on hiking, maybe visiting some towns, eating all the things, and going to a winery, I can’t take a “one size fits all” approach. Apparently I’ve adopted the German mentality of needing to have activity-specific clothing. That means hiking shoes, regular shoes, and house shoes, and that’s just footwear. No sandals, though the forecast promises some warmth. Inevitably it’ll be too much but hey, at least I have options. Sometimes I miss just wearing jeans, hoodies, and flip flops, but those college days are long gone.

I recently thought that it might be nice to just go somewhere for a weekend with a small carry-on bag. I can’t even tell you the last time I did that. My suitcase going and coming from the States over Christmas was so heavy that they managed to break the handle somewhere between Chicago and Dublin. I had to buy a new one while we were there and since I was still fully loaded with post-Christmas goodies and random things from my childhood room, I had to go with one of the larger options. I don’t even have a carry-on sized suitcase, only a big bag with a broken zipper. Needless to say, unless I get it replaced (repair was unsuccessful), that won’t be going under a plane anytime soon. It seems that anytime I’ve flown in the last couple years it’s been packed to the gills. I may have to talk BV into a last-minute long weekend in Greece or something, just for the luxury of traveling light.

***

Editor’s Note: I’ll still be doing the challenge while we’re way. The internet connection was questionable last time, so we’ll see how this works.

***

Editor’s Note: This is part of a 31-day challenge series for the month of May, in which I aim to spend at least 15 minutes writing about whatever strikes my fancy. Results may vary.

3 thoughts on “31-Day Challenge: Day 15

  1. We got a hand-luggage sized suitcase last year from one of those supermarket campaigns where you collect the stickers. It’s come in very useful already! (Jan has used it a couple of times for work trips when he was only away for one night and we also used it for Berlin at Easter)

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

