31-Day Challenge: Day 18

I know I am getting older when…

***

I know that time waits for no man. I know I feel older when one of my very professional-seeming students says they were born in the 90s. I still can’t believe the artist names advertised on the over-30 party posters. Because these days? I just don’t feel it.

It’s hard to compare to the last time we were here. That was two years ago, celebrating BV’s last year in his ‘early 30s.’ He’s now onto his ‘late 30s’ and it’s the same place but different.

Two years ago, I was just getting on German insurance and learning that my thyroid was a lazy jerk. For awhile, I let that explain my near-constant exhaustion and overweight state. Once on medication, I felt better, and a few kilos (like, two), fell off, but it wasn’t too drastic.

At the beginning of last year I began doing yoga. Starting slowly with a 30-day challenge, I gradually increased the time, committing to an 8-week program launched by my favorite YouTube yogi in July. My light and varied summer work schedule made it easy to do the program as scheduled, and I had never felt better.

I kept up with yoga over winter and for Christmas, my mom gifted all of us Fitbits. I wasn’t too sure about it at first, but I’ve worn it religiously every day since I set it up. It’s encouraged me to move more, and I’ve combined it with a nutrition app as well.

Since I wasn’t keeping good track of things last time we were here, I can’t be exactly sure of the difference, but I think it’s about 10 kilograms difference to two years ago. That’s about three kg less than my last lowest weight, which was five years ago when that beach holiday in Greece was looming. I also tracked food then, and was working out nearly daily. I know for sure that I’m seven kg down since Christmas, and I have to say, I feel ridiculously good. I’m not running up and down the mountains, but a lighter load and more energy really does make a world of difference.

***

Editor’s Note: This is part of a 31-day challenge series for the month of May, in which I aim to spend at least 15 minutes writing about whatever strikes my fancy. Results may vary.

2 thoughts on “31-Day Challenge: Day 18

  1. Find me on the Fitbit app! I’ve been using one for ages, originally because I was curious about how much I was walking when I was in Germany. Now that I’m back in a city where much walking occurs, the numbers are fun again!

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

