31-Day Challenge: Day 31

Ah, all good things must come to an end.

Or in the case of this, all things must come to an end.

Overall, I feel pretty satisfied with how this little experiment went. With the exception of two days, I managed to hit my writing goal on time. I don’t think anything I wrote this month knocked my socks off, but it was nice just to get back into the habit and that was really the point of the exercise.

The hardest thing about it was really what to write about. While I do have things that I find amusing or interesting or obnoxious on a daily basis, they weren’t always things I felt like I wanted to write about. And I wasn’t really interested in doing daily blow-by-blows of what I did that day. That made some days challenging, and while using the prompts was useful, there are A LOT of prompts that made me roll my eyes pretty hard. I have never thrown or attended an Oscar party, and give zero fucks about what kind of food or drink I might serve at such an event.

Also, when did people get so into the Kentucky Derby?

I do hope that I’ll be able to keep the writing itch satisfied in the future, whether or not those things make it into this space. I very much enjoyed doing some daily recording while we were on our mini-vacation this month, and I think I’d like to try doing that when we head on our big summer trip to Norway. Not everything is reserved for the trip yet, so I have no idea what the internet situation will be wherever we decide to stay, but I might consider doing a regular travelogue while we’re there. As discussed earlier this month, I am not a Travel Blogger and so I’d rather do quick updates while there than try to do big fancy schmancy posts when we get back. Or, think about doing those and never get around to it, like most vacations seem to go.

Honestly, I’d rather be in the moment and enjoying myself on vacation than trying to figure out how best to blog about it. But that’s me. You do you, Travel Bloggers of the world.

And if we end up booking a bunch of places in the middle of nowhere and there’s no internet, then that’ll decide that question. No skin off my back. But that’s all TBD.

Big thanks to those of you who read along and commented. That’s always the best part of blogging, as far as I’m concerned. I’m a crap commenter on other people’s blogs, but maybe my fancy new phone and improved internet service will make me better at it. If my train time can be more productive, that seems like a good use of data to me.

Happy June to all!

***

Editor’s Note: This is part of a 31-day challenge series for the month of May, in which I aim to spend at least 15 minutes writing about whatever strikes my fancy. Results may vary.

8 thoughts on “31-Day Challenge: Day 31

  1. Heather, I greatly enjoyed your posts this past month. I started following you several years ago while researching some things on Germany for our 5th trip and since I was tossing around the idea of moving there for work etc. In the end it did not work out.

    In either case I love to hear about your small trips, travel and the area you live in. We hit Weltenburg in 2015 in part to what I read about your visits. We also hit Nuremburg for a couple of nights (did not think it would be appropriate to reach out to you).

    I hope you keep posting about Germany. Since I have children now in college, it has become more difficult to coordinate (let alone afford) a trip.

    Yours,

    Doug

    • Hi Doug,
      Thanks so much for the nice message! Too bad the move didn’t work out but great that you still got to visit a bit. And the kids won’t always be in college so that’s much easier on the wallet. 🙂 Hope you enjoyed your visits to Nürnberg and Weltenburg as well. Haven’t been there in awhile, may have to rectify that sooner than later!
      Thanks again for following along, hope you chime in again sometime…
      h.

  2. Hi Heather,
    Congratulations to your accomplished mission! I’ve eben looking forward to every one of your posts and think you’ve done them great!
    In case you wonder, I’ve never commented on your blog before, but am following along quite a bit, maybe about a year now?
    I’m from Germany and really do enjoy your take on all things German. It’s kind of weird for me to see things through your eyes 🙂
    Especially BF and his friend the Gardener sounds immensely familiar to me. My husband does have a friend the Gardener too, and he happened to have his open day just one weekend before your friend’s. I had to laugh about the coincidence 😀
    By the way, we’re living near Ingolstadt, so I’d enjoy all things related to day trips/excursions!
    I’ll be commenting again, if you don’t mind.
    And please be sure to reach out when you’re in the neighbourhood! I’d enjoy having a coffee with you!

    One last thing about your vacation in Norway! We’ve done a similar one, but I don’t have specific things that I’d recommend right now. Let me think about that 😊
    Bis bald! Liebe Grüße!
    Maria

    • Hi Maria and thanks so much for commenting! It’s always lovely to hear from new people, especially if they’ve just been silently lurking for a bit. 🙂
      So funny that you have a Gardener friend in your circle as well… that is a popular thing to do this time of year with the Open Door Day. I think “our” gardener almost always has it the weekend of Mother’s Day, which is all about the strategy, haha.
      Will definitely let you know if I’m in the Ingolstadt area, and do the same if you come up to Nürnberg! I’m always up for a coffee.
      h.

  3. then try to do big fancy schmancy posts when we get back. Or, think about doing those and never get around to it, like most vacations seem to go.

    Honestly, I’d rather be in the moment and enjoying myself on vacation than trying to figure out how best to blog about it.

    I usually don’t think about blogging while I’m in transit, I just take a bajillion pictures of everything and then sort it all out when I get home. Sometimes this backfires- I just got back from Los Angeles, and now I’m sorting through the 800+ pictures I took, trying to figure out how to shape the bloggery. I could do a whole series of posts from what was essentially three full days in California. Or maybe just filet those 800 photos down to about a dozen of the best for a single post. This part is stressful!

    My point, originally, was just that I agree with you- I don’t think about the bloggery much while I’m on the go, I do it later. And often, I forget about it until later. I have tons of photos from past events that have yet to make it into a post. C’est la vie!

    • Dude. Soooo many pictures. I have thousands that will probably never see the light of day, besides me flipping through them. It’s okay. Blogging is what I do as an outlet occasionally and that’s it. Other people are much better (or sometimes worse) travel bloggers than I. Yours I always read though so keep posting though, please! 😉

      Ps- and thanks for highlighting those points and helping me catch a typo. English teacher fail! 🙂

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

