Our Germany Travel Wish Lists: A Link Up

A few weeks ago, the lovely Cynthia over at adventurings did a great post about places that she’d like to visit in the Czech Republic if (in this whole weird world we now live in), the borders remained closed but domestic travel was possible. I thought this was a great idea, and it certainly encouraged me to think a bit more about the places we might want to go if we can travel. Sure it might not be as far as before, but what was still possible? 

 

The two of us decided to make this post a link up, so I picked a few places, she picked a few places, and we thought it’d be fun to choose which of the other person’s was our top choice. As a side challenge for myself, I decided to avoid the Alps. There are still places there that I haven’t been, for sure, but at some point I should probably branch out, right? 

Having said that… my picks are after the jump! Click on…

1) Hamburg

Hamburg has to top my list as 1) I’m pretty sure it’s the opposite of the Alps, and 2) I have yet to hear anything bad about it. I’m intensely curious about what a German city with a Scandinavian vibe could be, and the maritime history, proximity to water, and the ready availability of fish stuffed into bread (for BV), definitely don’t hurt. I’ve also heard many a tale of the musical scene (Hamilton auf Deutsch, what?) or the Miniatur Wunderland, but I think I’d prefer to wander along the waterways, look up at all those brick facades, and then have to chase down BV every time he gets a whiff of grilled fish.

2) Sächsische Schweiz 

Aka, the Saxon Switzerland. We’ve spent a weekend in Chemnitz, and a day in Dresden, but more time in the wild, rolling hills of Saxony sounds like a great idea. While it lacks the high peaks, the incredible rock formations can be seen all over ze Instagram travel feeds. I still remember the first time I took the train between Prague and Berlin, and the way that the train rolled through the hills along the Elba, rock formations popping in and out of the greenery… I could kick myself for still not having explored that area more. 

3) Sylt

Ummm… rumor has it that Germany has beaches? And having seen those Strandkorb all over gardens and in the garden furniture section of the OBI for the last nine years, I think it’s time I saw them in their natural habitat? Personally, I’m a big baby when it comes to cold water so I’m a liiiiitle nervous about the possible temperatures at the North Sea, but look at that beach! I’ll probably live, even if I can just lie out and read a book or ten on the sand. 

4) the Triberg Waterfalls

The very first trip that BV and I ever took together was to Freiburg and the Black Forest. It was a quick weekend getaway, and though we’ve driven through, and stopped in Freiburg since then, I feel like it’s only a drop in the bucket. I’m especially interested to see the place that is billed as having “Germany’s highest waterfall.” It seems that it isn’t really, but it’s relatively easy to access, so that helps? Either way, it looks lovely, and I do think that I really need to revisit the Black Forest as the first time we were there, we went to the highest mountain and got to see this…

At the Feldberg summit, 1493m.

Ah yes, the good old days when I hiked in beat up sneakers and jeans. It did clear up a tad, as the day went on. But I need to see more! Preferably, of the falling water variety.

At the Feldberg.

5) Aachen

Sitting right near the border with the Netherlands and Belgium, Aachen is rumored to be another city with a great mix of culture and history. Though Charlemagne is long gone, his influence remains. I’d love to have a poke around the cathedral and its treasury, or spend a day walking the Route Charlemagne. And if you’re not in Germany, you can do it virtually

If you missed the link up at the top, Cynthia’s posts can be found right here, and as for me, I’m adding the Spreewald to my list. Berlin is always worth a visit, but I’d love to see where the Berliner’s go to escape the city life. We might even get crazy and rent a kayak. Who knows? 

Second choice goes to the Baltic coast, as the unexpected beachfront continues. Being able to smell the sea air on Rügen, as opposed to just seeing postcards of it or hearing about it, would be a welcome change of  pace. 

And you? What’s on your Germany wish list?

 

16/52

12 thoughts on “Our Germany Travel Wish Lists: A Link Up

  1. Your list is wonderful and ambitious 🙂 I would like add Neuschwanstein castle, close to Múnich, and Potsdam, not far from Berlin 🙂 last year I had the chance to visit Berlin and stayed 2 months, such a magical and unique city 🙂 good luck and stay safe! greetings from Lisbon, PedroL

    • Thanks for the comment, PedroL! Neuschwanstein is certainly worth a visit at least once, but I’ve been there about six times now, so unless I get more visitors who want to go there, I think I’m done, haha. And Potsdam is lovely, though I’ve only spent an afternoon in the palace gardens. That’s worth a trip as well. Glad you enjoyed Berlin! It’s such a unique city. 🙂 I’ve heard nothing but great things about Lisbon, so I’m hoping to get there sometime in the future when things calm down! Greetings from Franconia and stay safe, too.

      • Lisbon is amazing 🙂 and now the days are getting bigger and warmer, hopefully soon this virus crisis ends and we’ll be able to go again outside eheh all the best, PedroL

  2. Sylt is very expensive. I prefer Sankt- Peter- Ording, 50km south from Sylt. The beaches are really wide; Bikes are recommended. Nice beaches are also in Holland between Den Helder and Haarlem (the real one). Anyway, the Baltic Sea is not so cold.

  3. I would love to go back to Hamburg. I went for a weekend once probably 12 years ago and really enjoyed it. Other than that I really want to visit Leipzig and Dresden. I should probably make a list of places to visit in Switzerland though since I won’t be crossing the border for a while!

Ich liebe comments! Leave one here....

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.